Maggie Hartley is an author and foster care work. She has worked in the foster care industry for decades and during her time in that career she has helped many children.

As a foster care worker she has often taken on kids who have been through extreme levels of trauma and sets out to help them to overcome their issues. Maggie has since taken her experience and turned them into a long running series of books about working with these children. Her books include Tiny Prisoners, A Family for Christmas, Denied a Mummy, and A Sister’s Shame.

Get notified when Maggie Hartley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Maggie Hartley Foster Carer Story Books

Is It My Fault Mummy? (1970)Description / Buy at
Tiny Prisoners (2016)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Girl (2016)Description / Buy at
A Family For Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at
Too Young to be a Mum (2017)Description / Buy at
Who Will Love Me Now? (2017)Description / Buy at
Too Little Too Late (2017)Description / Buy at
Battered, Broken, Healed (2018)Description / Buy at
Sold To Be A Wife (2018)Description / Buy at
Too Scared To Cry (2018)Description / Buy at
Denied a Mummy (2018)Description / Buy at
A Desperate Cry for Help (2019)Description / Buy at
Daddy's Little Soldier (2019)Description / Buy at
Please Don't Take My Sisters (2019)Description / Buy at
Not To Blame (2020)Description / Buy at
Groomed to be a Bride (2021)Description / Buy at
Exploited (2021)Description / Buy at
A Sister's Shame (2021)Description / Buy at
Behind Closed Doors (2022)Description / Buy at
Please Give My Baby Back (2022)Description / Buy at
Where's My Mummy (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Please Don't Take Mummy Away (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maggie Hartley Books, You’ll Love…

A Sister’s Shame is another powerful true story from Hartley. Maggie is used to caring for all types of children, but nothing prepares her for the sisters named Billy and Bo who just arrived on her doorstep. Both of the sisters have been through some incredible neglect in their lives and it will take all of Maggie’s skills to connect with the little girls. They are only four and seven, but they seem far younger than that. As she works with them the little girls start emerging from the shells and Maggie starts to gain their trust. However, there is still something much darker going on beneath the surface and when it reveals itself it will have Maggie questioning all that she knows.

Behind Closed Doors sees Maggie earning a holiday from her work when she gets a call from Social Services as there is a little girl in need of emergency placement after the stabbing of her father. The girl arrives at her door in her pyjamas, covered in blood, and clearly in shock. Her father was stabbed and her mother is missing, and the police have questions. Maggie will need to gain the girl’s trust in order to find out the truth of what has been happening.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Maggie Hartley Books

Leave a Reply