Margaret Millar was an American-Canadian suspense and mystery writer who was highly recognized at the time. She was the recipient of the lifetime achievement award, the Grand Master Award by the Mystery Writers of America. Millar was known for her excellent characterization and her mature look at the psychology of her characters.

Millar was born in Berlin, Ontario in 1915. She would go to college at the Kitchener-Waterloo Collegiate Institute and the University of Toronto before moving to the United States after marrying her husband. The couple would move to California and it was there that she would do her writing and build her career. Her novel, Best in View was adapted for the TV series Alfred Hitchcock Presents.

Publication Order of Paul Prye Books

The Invisible Worm (1941)Description / Buy at
The Weak-Eyed Bat (1942)Description / Buy at
The Devil Loves Me (1942)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Sands Books

Publication Order of Tom Aragon Books

Ask for Me Tomorrow (1976)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Miranda (1979)Description / Buy at
Mermaid (1982)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fire Will Freeze (1944)Description / Buy at
Experiment in Springtime (1947)Description / Buy at
It's All in the Family (1948)Description / Buy at
The Cannibal Heart (1949)Description / Buy at
Do Evil in Return (1950)Description / Buy at
Vanish in an Instant (1952)Description / Buy at
Rose's Last Summer / The Lively Corpse (1952)Description / Buy at
Wives and Lovers (1954)Description / Buy at
Beast In View (1955)Description / Buy at
The Soft Talkers / An Air That Kills (1957)Description / Buy at
The Listening Walls (1959)Description / Buy at
A Stranger in My Grave (1960)Description / Buy at
How Like an Angel (1962)Description / Buy at
The Fiend (1964)Description / Buy at
Beyond This Point Are Monsters (1970)Description / Buy at
Banshee (1983)Description / Buy at
Spider Webs (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Couple Next Door (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Birds and the Beasts Were There (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Los Angeles Noir 2(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Margaret Millar Books, You’ll Love…

Beast in View may be Millar’s best known work and it is also an Edgar Award winner. The book follows thirty-year-old Helen Clarvoe who is all alone. She’s a shut-in who is not close to her family and survives of her family’s money with the only one close to her being the family’s attorney. A series of prank phone calls send her spiraling and running to the attorney for help. At first he doesn’t believe her, but he quickly realizes just how dangerous this situation is.

Another good book by Millar is The Listening Walls. Amy Kellogg is on vacation in Mexico, but she’s having a hard time as she keeps fighting with her freind Wilma. She wants to go home, but before she can Wilma is found dead outside of the hotel room and the authorities think it’s a suicide. Amy is traumatized by the incident and takes a holiday in New York – without her husband Robert. Her brother has his worries and when Amy’s stay drags on for months, the suspicions grow to a breaking point in the family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Margaret Millar Books

Leave a Reply