Mark Haddon is an English author of children’s books and literary fiction novels. He attended at Uppingham School and Merton College, Oxford, where he studied English. Mark is an vegetarian who enjoys vegetarian cookery. Mark lives in Oxford, England with his wife, Dr. Sos Eltis, and their two sons.

Mark Haddon made his debut as an author in 1988 with the picture book Toni and the Tomato Soup. Below is a list of Mark Haddon’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Mark Haddon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Agent Z Books

Agent Z Meets the Masked Crusader (1994)Description / Buy at
Agent Z Goes Wild (1994)Description / Buy at
Agent Z and the Penguin From Mars (1995)Description / Buy at
Agent Z and the Killer Bananas (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Real Porky Philips (1994)Description / Buy at
Boom! (1994)Description / Buy at
Gridzbi Spudvetch! (1994)Description / Buy at
Titch Johnson (1994)Description / Buy at
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (2003)Description / Buy at
A Spot of Bother (2006)Description / Buy at
The Red House (2012)Description / Buy at
The Porpoise (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea (2013)Description / Buy at
The Pier Falls and Other Stories (2016)Description / Buy at
Dogs and Monsters (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Toni and the Tomato Soup (1988)Description / Buy at
Gilbert's Gobstopper (1988)Description / Buy at
A Narrow Escape for Princess Sharon (1989)Description / Buy at
Baby Dinosaurs at Home (1994)Description / Buy at
Baby Dinosaurs in the Garden (1994)Description / Buy at
Baby Dinosaurs on Holiday (1994)Description / Buy at
Baby Dinosaurs at Playgroup (1994)Description / Buy at
Footprints on the Moon (1996)Description / Buy at
The Sea of Tranquility (1996)Description / Buy at
Ocean Star Express (2001)Description / Buy at
The Ice Bear’s Cave (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: The Play (With: Simon Stephens) (2003)Description / Buy at
Polar Bears (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Ultimate Hush-Hush Handbook / Secret Agent Handbook (1994)Description / Buy at
Stop What You're Doing and Read This! (With: Michael Rosen,Jeanette Winterson,Zadie Smith) (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ox-Tales: Fire(2009)Description / Buy at
Six Shorts(2013)Description / Buy at
The BBC National Short Story Award 2015(2015)Description / Buy at
Eight Ghosts(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mark Haddon Books, You’ll Love…

Mark Haddon Synopsis: A Spot of Bother is a standalone novel by Mark Haddon. George Hall is an unobtrusive man. Distant, cautious, and not quite at ease with the emotional demands of fatherhood or of manly bonhomie. Some things in life can’t be ignored, however: his tempestuous daughter Katie’s deeply inappropriate boyfriend Ray, for instance, or the sudden appearance of a red circular rash on his hip.

At 57, George is settling down to a comfortable retirement, building a shed in his garden and enjoying the freedom to be alone when he wants. But then he runs into a spot of bother. That red circular rash on his hip: George convinces himself it’s skin cancer. And the deeply inappropriate Ray? Katie announces he will become her second husband. The planning for these frowned-upon nuptials proves a great inconvenience to George’s wife, Jean, who is carrying on a late-life affair with her husband’s ex-colleague. The Halls do not approve of Ray, for vague reasons summed up by their son Jamie’s observation that Ray has “strangler’s hands.” Jamie himself has his own problems — his tidy and pleasant life comes apart when he fails to invite his lover, Tony, to Katie’s wedding. And Katie, a woman whose ferocious temper once led to the maiming of a carjacker, can’t decide if she loves Ray, or loves the wonderful way he has with her son Jacob.

Unnoticed in the uproar, George quietly begins to go mad. The way these damaged people fall apart — and come together — as a family is the true subject of Haddon’s hilarious and disturbing portrait of a dignified man trying to go insane politely.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mark Haddon Books

Leave a Reply