Mary McNear is an American author of women’s fiction novels. She writes the Butternut Lake series, and is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Mary bases her novels on a lifetime of summers spent in a small town on a lake in the northern Midwest. She writes her novels at a local doughnut shop, where she sips Diet Pepsi, observes the hustle and bustle of neighbourhood life. Mary resides in San Francisco with her husband, two teenage children, and a high-strung, tiny white dog named Macaroon.

Mary McNear made her debut as a novelist in 2014 with the novel Up at Butternut Lake. Below is a list of Mary McNear’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Mary McNear releases a new book at

Publication Order of Butternut Lake Books

Up at Butternut Lake (2014)Description / Buy at
Butternut Summer (2014)Description / Buy at
The Night Before Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at
Moonlight on Butternut Lake (2015)Description / Buy at
The Space Between Sisters (2016)Description / Buy at
The Light in Summer (2017)Description / Buy at
The Secrets We Carried (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

New Voices in Fiction Sampler(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary McNear, You’ll Love…

Mary McNear Synopsis: Moonlight on Butternut Lake is the third novel in the Butternut Lake series. It’s an amazing story of two wounded souls seizing a second chance at life and love. On the run from her abusive husband, Mila Jones runs from Minneapolis for the safety and peacefulness of Butternut Lake. Ready to make a new life, Mila’s position as home health aide to Reid Ford is more than a job. It’s a chance at a fresh start. Though her patient seems determined to make her quit, she refuses to give up on him. Haunted by the car accident that nearly killed him, Reid retreats to his brother’s cabin on Butternut Lake and strikes out at anyone who tries to help. Against all odds, Mila slowly draws Reid out. Soon they form a tentative, yet increasingly deeper, bond as Mila lowers her guard and begins to trust again, and Reid learns how to let this woman who has managed to crack through his protective shell into his life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary McNear Books

Leave a Reply