Max Gladstone is a Hugo award nominated author of The Craft Sequence. He is known for his expert world building which has led to him getting consulting jobs as a narrative, game designer, and world builder.

In addition to writing books, Gladstone has also written games, comics, and interactive television. Gladstone studied Chan poetry and late Ming dynasty fiction at Yale. He would then move on to live and teach for two years in rural Anhui province. Gladstone wrote the spy-versus-spy novella, This is How You Lose the Time War with Amal El-Mohtar.

Get notified when Max Gladstone releases a new book at

Publication Order of Craft Sequence Books

Three Parts Dead (2012)Description / Buy at
Two Serpents Rise (2013)Description / Buy at
Full Fathom Five (2014)Description / Buy at
Last First Snow (2015)Description / Buy at
Four Roads Cross (2016)Description / Buy at
The Ruin of Angels (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Craft Wars Books

Publication Order of Bookburners Books

A Sorcerer's Apprentice (By: Mur Lafferty) (2015)Description / Buy at
Badge, Book, and Candle (2015)Description / Buy at
Under My Skin (By: Mur Lafferty) (2015)Description / Buy at
Shore Leave (By: Mur Lafferty) (2015)Description / Buy at
Creepy Town (2016)Description / Buy at
Bookburners (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Empress of Forever (2019)Description / Buy at
This Is How You Lose the Time War (With: Amal El-Mohtar) (2019)Description / Buy at
Last Exit (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Angelus Guns (2014)Description / Buy at
A Kiss With Teeth (2014)Description / Buy at
The Scholast in the Low Waters Kingdom (2017)Description / Buy at
Crispin's Model (2017)Description / Buy at
Fitting In (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

The Ghost in the Shell (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Witch Who Came In From The Cold Books

The Witch Who Came In From The Cold: Season One (With: Michael Swanwick,Ian Tregillis,Lindsay Smith,Cassandra Rose Clarke) (2016)Description / Buy at
The Witch Who Came In From The Cold: The Complete Season 2 (With: Ian Tregillis,Fran Wilde,Lindsay Smith,Cassandra Rose Clarke) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Voices of Fantasy(2013)Description / Buy at
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at
Shared Nightmares(2014)Description / Buy at
Some of the Best from, 2014 edition(2015)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology(2015)Description / Buy at
The Starlit Wood(2016)Description / Buy at
Robots vs. Fairies(2018)Description / Buy at
Worlds Seen in Passing: Ten Years of Short Fiction(2018)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology Volume 4(2018)Description / Buy at
Nebula Awards Showcase 55(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Max Gladstone Books, You’ll Love…

Empress of Forever introduces to Vivian Liao, a genius that rivals Steve Jobs in her ingenuity and radical thinking. Liao is on the brink of her greatest achievement and there are some who wish to steal her success from her. She is trying to outrun them when she sets her plan in motion and ends up catapulted through space and time to a far away future. She’s at the end of time, where it is ruled by a powerful Empress who can erase a planet with a single thought. Nobody has the capacity to rebel against her either, but that will all change when Vivian arrives in their time.

The first book in the Craft Sequence series is called Three Parts Dead. The book sees a God dying and the job of bringing him back to life falling on Tara’s shoulders. She’s a first-year associate at the international necromantic firm of Kelethres, Albrecht, and Ao; and this is a big job for her. Tara needs to bring the god, Kos, back because he runs the metropolis’s steam generators and trains with his fire god powers. A prolonged death could lead to a riot in the city and the pressure is on Tara to get the job done.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Max Gladstone Books

Leave a Reply