Martha Wells is a fantasy author best known for her creations, the Raksura series and the Ile-Rien series. Her books are best known for their portrayals of realistic, complex societies that inhabit the worlds of her books.

Martha Wells was born in Fort Worth, Texas. After high school, she went on to attend Texas A&M University where she graduated with a bachelor of arts in Anthropology. She became involved in science-fiction culture while at A&M and was the chairman of AggieCon during her time there. She still lives in College Station today with her husband.

Get notified when Martha Wells releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ile-Rien Books

The Element of Fire (1993)Description / Buy at
The Death of the Necromancer (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fall Of Ile-Rien Books

The Wizard Hunters (2003)Description / Buy at
The Ships of Air (2004)Description / Buy at
The Gate of Gods (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Books Of The Raksura Books

The Cloud Roads (2011)Description / Buy at
The Serpent Sea (2012)Description / Buy at
The Siren Depths (2012)Description / Buy at
The Edge of Worlds (2016)Description / Buy at
The Harbors of the Sun (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Emilie Books

Emilie and the Hollow World (2013)Description / Buy at
Emilie and the Sky World (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stories Of The Raksura Books

The Falling World & The Tale of Indigo and Cloud (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Murderbot Diaries Books

All Systems Red (2017)Description / Buy at
Artificial Condition (2018)Description / Buy at
Rogue Protocol (2018)Description / Buy at
Exit Strategy (2018)Description / Buy at
Compulsory (2018)Description / Buy at
Network Effect (2020)Description / Buy at
Home: Habitat, Range, Niche, Territory (2020)Description / Buy at
Fugitive Telemetry (2021)Description / Buy at
System Collapse (2023)Description / Buy at
Note: Compulsory can only be read on

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

City of Bones (1995)Description / Buy at
Wheel of the Infinite (2000)Description / Buy at
Blade Singer (2014)Description / Buy at
Witch King (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Between Worlds (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stargate Atlantis Books

Flipside (By: Sally Malcolm) (2005)Description / Buy at
Rising (By: Sally Malcolm) (2005)Description / Buy at
Halcyon (By: James Swallow) (2006)Description / Buy at
Reliquary (2006)Description / Buy at
The Chosen (By: Sonny Whitelaw,Elizabeth Christensen) (2006)Description / Buy at
Exogenesis (By: Sonny Whitelaw,ElizabethChristensen) (2006)Description / Buy at
Blood Ties (By: Sonny Whitelaw,Elizabeth Christensen) (2007)Description / Buy at
Entanglement (2007)Description / Buy at
Casualties of War (By: Elizabeth Christensen) (2007)Description / Buy at
Mirror, Mirror (By: Sabine C. Bauer) (2008)Description / Buy at
Nightfall (By: James Swallow) (2008)Description / Buy at
Angelus (By: Peter J. Evans) (2008)Description / Buy at
Brimstone (By: Patricia Lee Macomber) (2009)Description / Buy at
Dead End (By: Chris Wraight) (2009)Description / Buy at
Hunt and Run (By: Aaron Rosenberg) (2010)Description / Buy at
Allegiance (By: Melissa Scott,Amy Griswold) (2011)Description / Buy at
Homecoming (By: Melissa Scott,Jo Graham) (2011)Description / Buy at
Death Game (By: Jo Graham) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Lost (By: Amy Griswold,Jo Graham) (2011)Description / Buy at
Secrets (By: Melissa Scott,Jo Graham) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Furies (By: Jo Graham) (2012)Description / Buy at
Inheritors (By: Melissa Scott,Amy Griswold,Jo Graham) (2013)Description / Buy at
Pride of the Genii (By: Melissa Scott) (2018)Description / Buy at
Unascended (By: Jo Graham) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Star Wars: Empire and Rebellion Books

Razor's Edge (2013)Description / Buy at
Honor Among Thieves (By: James S. A. Corey) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Elemental: The Tsunami Relief Anthology(2006)Description / Buy at
Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who(2012)Description / Buy at
Tales of the Emerald Serpent: Ghosts of Taux(2012)Description / Buy at
The Other Half of the Sky(2013)Description / Buy at
A Knight in the Silk Purse: Ghosts of Taux(2014)Description / Buy at
The Gods of HP Lovecraft(2015)Description / Buy at
Mech(2017)Description / Buy at Publishing Editorial Spotlight #2: A Selection of Novellas(2019)Description / Buy at
Nebula Awards Showcase 2019(2019)Description / Buy at
Take Us to a Better Place(2020)Description / Buy at
From a Certain Point of View(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Martha Wells Books, You’ll Love…

The Cloud Roads is the first book in the Raksura series of books. The book focuses on Moon, a young shapeshifter who has always had to hide what he is from others. Moon tries to fit in with his tribe, but struggles and when he is cast out he ends up finding what he was looking for all along… someone just like him. Another shapeshifter who tells him of his own community of shapeshifters that will welcome him with open arms. What Moon doesn’t know is that heading to this community will put him smack dab in the middle of a conflict and that he could be the key to flipping the balance of power.

Wells’ first published book was The Element of Fire. The world of Ile-Rien is medieval like place that is on the brink thanks to internal conflicts and the battle between scientific magic and fairy magic. There are a lot of moving parts in this novel as the kingdom is ruled by a weak, young man named King Roland, but is actually run behind the scenes by the Dowager Queen Ravenna. She tries to keep the kingdom safe from the Fayre, a disgruntled sorcerer who lost his land, and the king’s illegitimate half sister. The world building of Wells is on fully display here as she deftly combines the mundane with the fantastical.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Martha Wells Books

Leave a Reply