Naomi Novik
Naomi Novik is an American author of historical fantasy/alternate history novels. She writes the Temeraire fantasy series. Naomi has been reading ever since she was young, even reading the Lord of the Rings when she was six and then came to love Jane Austen when she was only seven years old. With her childhood love for literature in mind, it comes as no surprise that Naomi studied English Literature at Brown University. She also got her Master’s degree in Computer Science from Columbia University. After working on designing and developing the Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide computer game, she realized that she preferred writing fantasy to working on fantasy video games.

Naomi Novik made her debut as a published novelist in 2006 with the novel His Majesty’s Dragon (published in the UK as Temeraire). As the UK title suggests, it was the beginning of her Temeraire series. Below is a list of Naomi Novik’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Naomi Novik releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liberty Vocational Books

Will Supervillains Be On the Final? (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Scholomance Books

A Deadly Education (2020)Description / Buy at
The Last Graduate (2021)Description / Buy at
The Golden Enclaves (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Temeraire Books

His Majesty's Dragon (2006)Description / Buy at
Throne of Jade (2006)Description / Buy at
Black Powder War (2006)Description / Buy at
Feast or Famine (2006)Description / Buy at
Empire of Ivory (2007)Description / Buy at
Victory of Eagles (2008)Description / Buy at
Tongues of Serpents (2010)Description / Buy at
Vici (2011)Description / Buy at
Crucible of Gold (2012)Description / Buy at
Blood of Tyrants (2013)Description / Buy at
League of Dragons (2016)Description / Buy at
Golden Age and Other Stories (2017)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Temeraire Books

Vici(2011)Description / Buy at
His Majesty's Dragon(2006)Description / Buy at
Throne of Jade(2006)Description / Buy at
Black Powder War(2006)Description / Buy at
Empire of Ivory(2007)Description / Buy at
Victory of Eagles(2008)Description / Buy at
Tongues of Serpents(2010)Description / Buy at
Crucible of Gold(2012)Description / Buy at
Blood of Tyrants(2013)Description / Buy at
League of Dragons(2016)Description / Buy at
Golden Age and Other Stories(2017)Description / Buy at
Feast or Famine(2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Buried Deep and Other Stories (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Wings of Fire(2001)Description / Buy at
Fast Ships, Black Sails(2008)Description / Buy at
The Year\'s Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2009(2008)Description / Buy at
Warriors 2(2010)Description / Buy at
Naked City: Tales of Urban Fantasy(2011)Description / Buy at
The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination(2013)Description / Buy at
Unfettered(2013)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Warriors and Wizardry(2014)Description / Buy at
The Starlit Wood(2016)Description / Buy at
Unfettered II: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2016)Description / Buy at
Galactic Empires(2017)Description / Buy at
Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Thirteen(2019)Description / Buy at
The Best of Uncanny(2019)Description / Buy at

Note: His Majesty’s Dragon was published as Temeraire in the United Kingdom.

If You Like Naomi Novik Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Naomi Novik Books

One Response to “Order of Naomi Novik Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 9 years ago

    The Temeraire series is wonderful… all time favorite is the FIRST one, “His Majesty’s Dragon”…..I’ve read and re-read it many times….the others are good but that is something special!


Leave a Reply