Michael Nava is a former lawyer and author. He is best known for writing his Henry Rios Mysteries books about gay, Latino criminal defense lawyer Henry Rios.

Nava was awarded the Bill Whitehead Lifetime Achievement Award in LGBT literature in 2001. Prior to his work as an author, Nava had a successful legal career. He earned his law degree from Stanford University and went on to practice for many years, but he retired from the legal world in 2016. Nava is a native of California where he still lives to this day, splitting his time between San Francisco and Palm Springs.

Get notified when Michael Nava releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of The Henry Rios Mysteries Books

Lay Your Sleeping Head / The Little Death (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Goldenboy (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Howtown (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hidden Law (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death of Friends (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Burning Plain (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rag and Bone (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Carved in Bone (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lies With Man (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Unlived Lives (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The City of Palaces (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Finale(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Letter Q(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality?(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Michael Nava Books, You’ll Love…

Lay Your Sleeping Head is the first book in the Henry Rios series. The story introduces readers to Rios as he struggles with personal and professional problems. He starts an affair with the heir to a great California fortune and the man shares with him a story of murder and sexual predation within his family. When the man is found dead not too long after, Rios begins an investigation as he believes it was murder and not a drug overdose as the authorities are saying.

Nava also wrote the standalone historical novel, The City of Palaces. The story takes place in the years before the Mexican Revolution when Mexico is ruled by a group of elite who rule and take everything for themselves. The vast majority of Mexicans are politically powerless and starving. The story opens in a Mexico City Jail when a young doctor meets the spinster daughter of an aristocratic family. Miguel is a principled doctor racked by guilt while Alicia, disfigured by smallpox, has dedicated her life to helping others. The unlikely pair will marry and through their eyes, and the eyes of their son, Nava tells the story of revolution.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Michael Nava Books

Leave a Reply