Michael Slade is the pen name of Canadian author Jay Clarke, who writes psychological thriller novels. He writes the Special X series. Working as a trial lawyer in Vancouver, Jay has been involved in over a hundred murder cases. He uses this experience to write his thriller novels. Over the years, he has written alongside others such as John Banks, Richard Covell, Lee Clarke (wife), and most notably, Rebecca Clarke (daughter).

Michael Slade made his debut as a published novelist in 1984 with the novel Headhunter. Below is a list of Michael Slade’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Michael Slade releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Special X Books

Headhunter (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ghoul (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cutthroat (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ripper (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Zombie / Evil Eye (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shrink / Primal Scream (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Burnt Bones (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hangman (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death's Door (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bed of Nails (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Swastika (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kamikaze (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crucified (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Red Snow (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Headhunter Reimagined (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Chronological Order of Special X Books

Headhunter Reimagined is a re-telling of the first novel of the series, Headhunter.

Notes: Zombie was also published as Evil Eye. Shrink is also titled Primal Scream.

If You Like Michael Slade Books, You’ll Love…

Michael Slade Synopses: Headhunter by Michael Slade is the first Special X novel. In Vancouver, British Columbia, several decapitated bodies of brutally murdered women causes the Royal Canadian Mounted Police on a search that leads to Ecuador and into the mind of a very perverse psychopath.

Ghoul by Michael Slade is the second book in the Special X series. Scotland Yard’s Hilary Rand looks for a connection between London’s orgy of killings and Vancouver’s underworld in the dark obsessions of a Rhode Island family whose tainted past will not lie quiet in its grave.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Michael Slade Books

3 Responses to “Order of Michael Slade Books”

  1. Vivian: 2 years ago

    I love your books and have read all of them i think and was wondering if you have or are still writing fantastic stories

    Thank you


  2. Keith Howlett: 4 years ago

    Although Jay Clarke has written some of the best psycho-serial antagonist(s) out there (Headhunter rivalled the finest serial killer thriller ever written “By Reason of Insanity,” by Shane Stevens pub 1979 if you can locate a copy it’ll be used, but worth the money). Ghoul I was reading in Lobby of a Psychiatrist’s office whom had a patient; the son of a serial killer that didn’t want to follow his family’s chosen career path and was in therapy. The was Doctor, a friend of mine whom had hired me temporarily (to professionally protect the privacy of his patient), to interview his patient as research for my own novel, a serial killer novel if you can imagine that.

    As I waited for over two hours reading Slade the entire time slowly freaking out about meeting this guy, and when I was to be finally left alone for our meeting, being told only moments prior to that meeting that it was to be private, it only intensified that feeling of dread Slade had me enveloped in that entire time.

    Red Snow was published 10 years ago, and unless his daughter takes up the mantle (and I have mixed feelings should that happen) is that the last of the Slade books?

    Does anyone know?


  3. Tom Reilly: 6 years ago

    I’ve read all the Slade books; enjoyed them all. Headhunter is the best, IMO


Leave a Reply