Michael Stanley is the collective pseudonym of Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip. They write crime fiction novels, including the Detective Kubu series, under this pen name. Michael and Stanley have been on several adventures together, such as tracking lions, fighting bush fires, surviving a charging elephant, and losing their navigation maps while flying over the Kalahari. Michael lives in Johannesburg, South Africa, while Stanley splits his time between South Africa and Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Michael Stanley debuted as a novelist in 2008 with the novel A Carrion Death. Below is a list of Michael Stanley’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Michael Stanley releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Detective Kubu Books

A Carrion Death (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Deadly Trade / The Second Death of Goodluck Tinubu (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death of the Mantis (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deadly Harvest (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Death in the Family (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying to Live (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Facets of Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Deadly Covenant (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Detective Kubu Collections

Detective Kubu Investigates (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Detective Kubu Investigates 2 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

African Mysteries (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Taste of Africa (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Once Upon a Crime: An Anthology of Murder, Mayhem and Suspense(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crimespree Magazine #52(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sunshine Noir(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The anthology Sunshine Noir was edited with Annamaria Alfieri.

If You Like Michael Stanley Books, You’ll Love…

Michael Stanley Synopsis: Dead of Night is a standalone novel by Michael Stanley. Journalist Crys Nguyen puts her life on the line while chasing down a story – while also trying to find her missing friend’s whereabouts – in Africa, where he disappeared a month earlier while researching the illegal rhino horn trade.

Sunshine Noir is an anthology edited by Annamaria Alfieri and Michael Stanley. In these stories, seventeen writers from across the world write about the seedy underbelly of sunny places. Stories are set in the Dominican Republic, the Sonoran Desert of Arizona, chic Mykonos, Seville at midnight, and on the morning beachfront of Ghana where a man has revenge on his mind. Follow an NGO worker kidnapped in Yemen, an engineer repairing a dam in turmoil-torn Ethiopia, a foolish young Englishman hitchhiking across the Sahara. Stories will also take you to historic Istanbul and Mombasa, and you can learn the secrets of family conflicts in Singapore, in Puerto Rico, in New Orleans.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Michael Stanley Books

Leave a Reply