Sujata Massey
Sujata Massey is an English-American author of mystery, historical fiction and suspense novels. She is best known for her Rei Shimura series. Sujata was born in England to an Indian father and a German mother. She emigrated to the United States when she was 5 and was raised mostly in St. Paul, Minnesota, although she has called Baltimore, Maryland home for over a quarter century. Sujata has a B.A. in the Writing Seminars from the Johns Hopkins University. Prior to becoming a novelist, she worked as a features reporter for the Baltimore Evening Sun. Sujata is an Agatha and Macavity award-winning author.

Sujata Massey made her debut as a published author in 1997 with the novel The Salaryman’s Wife. This began her Rei Shimura series. Below is a list of Sujata Massey’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Sujata Massey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Perveen Mistry Books

The Widows of Malabar Hill (2018)Description / Buy at
The Satapur Moonstone (2019)Description / Buy at
The Bombay Prince (2021)Description / Buy at
The Mistress of Bhatia House (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Books

The Salaryman's Wife (1997)Description / Buy at
Zen Attitude (1998)Description / Buy at
The Flower Master (1999)Description / Buy at
The Floating Girl (2000)Description / Buy at
The Bride's Kimono (2001)Description / Buy at
The Samurai's Daughter (2003)Description / Buy at
The Pearl Diver (2004)Description / Buy at
The Typhoon Lover (2005)Description / Buy at
Girl in a Box (2006)Description / Buy at
Shimura Trouble (2008)Description / Buy at
The Kizuna Coast (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Short Stories Books

The Deepest Blue (2011)Description / Buy at
Junior High Samurai (2011)Description / Buy at
The Convenience Boy (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Collections

Convenience Boy and Other Stories of Japan (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sleeping Dictionary (2013)Description / Buy at
The City of Palaces (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Ayah's Tale (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Once Upon a Crime: An Anthology of Murder, Mayhem and Suspense(2009)Description / Buy at
Writes of Passage(2014)Description / Buy at
The Usual Santas(2016)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Widows of Malabar Hill is also known as A Murder on Malabar Hill. Killer Femmes 2: Small Bites also includes stories by Libby Fischer Hellmann, Christine Kling, Zoe Sharp and Julie Smith. The Sleeping Dictionary was also published as The City of Palaces.

If You Like Sujata Massey Books, You’ll Love…

Sujata Massey Synopsis: The Ayah’s Tale is a novella by Sujata Massey. In 1952, Menakshi walks into a Penang library during the rainy season. She discovers a book written by Julian Winslett, a British war hero and writer, who was a young boy she cared for while working as a 16-year-old nanny in Bengal. His book is about those old days, and features the two of them as named characters. The 1920s British Raj was an era of expansive homes and gardens, elegant rail travel, and very strict divisions between Indians, Anglo-Indians and the British. For the rulers of India, it was a glorious period; but for Menakshi, it’s a time she’d rather forget. She’d pushed away all her old feelings for Julian… but now they’re back. As Menakshi reads Julian’s book, she returns to a vanished world where luxury and deprivation co-exist in the same grand bungalow – and romance breaks all rules in the hills of Darjeeling and on the Bengal-Nagpur Railway. Menakshi’s own recollections add suspense as his family heads toward rupture, and she is torn between loyalty toward the children and her own secret dreams.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sujata Massey Books

Leave a Reply