Naomi Alderman is an English novelist. She attended South Hampstead High School and Oxford University, studying Philosophy, Politics and Economics. She later studied creative writing at University of East Anglia. She was named one of the 25 Writers of the Future by Waterstones. She became a protégée of Margaret Atwood through the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

Naomi Alderman made her debut as an author in 2006 with the novel Disobedience. It received the the 2006 Orange Award for New Writers and the 2007 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. The novel was adapted to film, directed by Sebastián Lelio and starring Rachel Weisz and Rachel McAdams. Below is a list of Naomi Alderman’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Naomi Alderman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Doctor Who: Thirteenth Doctor Adventures Books

The Good Doctor (By: Juno Dawson) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Secret in Vault 13 (By: David Solomons) (2018)Description / Buy at
Molten Heart (By: Una McCormack) (2018)Description / Buy at
Combat Magicks (By: Steve Cole) (2018)Description / Buy at
Time Lapse (2019)Description / Buy at
At Childhood's End (By: Sophie Aldred) (2020)Description / Buy at
The Maze of Doom (By: David Solomons) (2020)Description / Buy at
Adventures in Lockdown (By: Paul Cornell,Neil Gaiman,Mark Gatiss,Steven Moffat,Russell T. Davies,Vinay Patel,Chris Chibnall,Joy Wilkinson,Pete McTighe) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Doctor Who: Eleventh Doctor Adventures Books

Nuclear Time (By: Oli Smith) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Runaway Train (By: Oli Smith) (2010)Description / Buy at
Apollo 23 (By: Justin Richards) (2010)Description / Buy at
Night of the Humans (By: David Llewellyn) (2010)Description / Buy at
Night of the Monsters (By: David Llewellyn) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Army (By: Brian Minchin) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Glamour Chase (By: Gary Russell) (2010)Description / Buy at
The King's Dragon (By: Una McCormack) (2010)Description / Buy at
Coming of the Terraphiles (By: Michael Moorcock) (2010)Description / Buy at
Death Riders (By: Justin Richards) (2011)Description / Buy at
Hunter's Moon (By: Paul Finch) (2011)Description / Buy at
Dead of Winter (By: James Goss) (2011)Description / Buy at
Heart of Stone (By: Trevor Baxendale) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Way Through the Woods (By: Una McCormack) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Good, the Bad and the Alien (By: Colin Brake) (2011)Description / Buy at
Blackout (By: Oli Smith) (2011)Description / Buy at
Touched by An Angel (By: Jonathan Morris) (2011)Description / Buy at
Paradox Lost (By: George Mann) (2011)Description / Buy at
Borrowed Time (2011)Description / Buy at
Rain of Terror (By: Mike Tucker) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Silent Stars Go By (By: Dan Abnett) (2011)Description / Buy at
Horror of the Space Snakes (By: Gary Russell) (2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Horizons (By: Jenny Colgan) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Silurian Gift (By: Mike Tucker) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dalek Generation (By: Nicholas Briggs) (2013)Description / Buy at
Shroud of Sorrow (By: Tommy Donbavand) (2013)Description / Buy at
Plague of the Cybermen (By: Justin Richards) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Doctor: His Lives and Times (By: James Goss,Steve Tribe) (2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Trenzalore (By: Justin Richards) (2014)Description / Buy at
Engines of War (By: George Mann) (2014)Description / Buy at
System Wipe (By: Oli Smith) (2015)Description / Buy at
Extra Time (By: Richard Dungworth) (2016)Description / Buy at
The Water Thief (By: Jacqueline Rayner) (2016)Description / Buy at
Terrible Lizards (By: Jonathan Green) (2016)Description / Buy at
Terminal of Despair (By: Steve Lyons) (2016)Description / Buy at
Rebellion on Treasure Island (By: Bali Rai) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

X-24: Unclassified(2007)Description / Buy at
New Writings in the Fantastic(2007)Description / Buy at
Exquisite Corpse(2013)Description / Buy at
Jews vs Aliens(2015)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: Thirteen Doctors, 13 Stories(2019)Description / Buy at
Marple: Twelve New Mysteries(2022)Description / Buy at
A Cage Went in Search of a Bird: Ten Kafkaesque Stories(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Naomi Alderman Books, You’ll Love…

Naomi Alderman Synopses: The Future is a standalone novel by Naomi Alderman. When Martha Einkorn escaped her father’s secluded compound in Oregon, she never anticipated working for a powerful social media magnate with ambitions to control everything. Now surrounded by mega-rich corporations involved in private weather manipulation, predictive analytics, and covert weaponry, Martha finds herself in a world that seems to align with the apocalyptic warnings from her father’s once metaphorical fox and rabbit sermon. Meanwhile, across the globe in a Singapore mall, Lai Zhen, an internet-famous survivalist, faces a life-threatening situation. As their worlds converge, Martha’s determination and Zhen’s relentless curiosity may either lead to something beautiful or contribute to the cataclysmic end of civilization, while a few billionaires, confident in their own safety, steer the world toward destruction.

In Naomi Alderman’s The Power, the familiar world undergoes a transformation. It features a wealthy Nigerian boy, a foster child with secretive parents, an ambitious American politician, and a resilient London girl. However, a new force emerges, giving teenage girls extraordinary physical power to inflict pain and death. This twist of nature reshapes the world dramatically. Alderman’s speculative fiction explores an alternate reality, offering a thrilling journey and unveiling thought-provoking insights into our own world.

In The Lessons by Naomi Alderman, James is an eternal outsider who embarks on his Oxford journey, a realm of privilege, opulence, and ambition. There, he encounters Mark Winters, an astonishingly wealthy and heartbreakingly callous figure, along with a circle of fellow students – the untouchable Emmanuella, the unpredictable Simon and Franny, and the passionately genuine Jess.

Days and nights blend into an endless party, weaving a tapestry of friendships formed and shattered, lovers swapped or abandoned. It’s a captivating and enchanting experience, fulfilling James’ dreams beyond belief.

However, as university ends, they’re scattered into an indifferent world, freed from Mark’s dark influence but lost to each other. The once tight-knit group faces separation until one fateful night when tragedy strikes, altering their lives forever.

Disobedience is a standalone title by author Naomi Alderman. A young photographer residing in New York receives news of her estranged father, a respected rabbi, passing away. Forced to confront the truth, she returns to the Orthodox Jewish community in London where she spent her childhood.

Upon her return, Ronit senses the disapproving stares of the community, particularly from Dovid, her beloved cousin and her father’s favorite student, now a revered rabbi, and Esti, once her ally in youthful rebellion, now married to Dovid. Ronit is taken aback by the vast differences in their lives and the widening gap between them.

As old flames rekindle and the startling truth about Ronit and Esti’s past relationship is exposed, the novel unfolds, exploring the themes of love, faith, and the challenges of standing up for one’s beliefs, even if it means going against the grain. The story delves into the complexities of universal emotions and the sacrifices needed to fight for what you hold dear.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Naomi Alderman Books

Leave a Reply