Patricia Highsmith
Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995) was an American author of suspense, psychological thriller and crime fiction novels. Her 1950 debut novel Strangers on a Train was adapted to film by Alfred Hitchcock, while her 1955 novel The Talented Mr. Ripley was adapted to film in 1999 starring Matt Damon (as Tom Ripley), Jude Law and Gwyneth Paltrow. Some of the common themes in her novels included homosexual undertones and anti-hero protagonists.

Patricia Highsmith became a published author in 1950 with the aforementioned novel Strangers on a Train. It was nominated for an Edgar Award in 1951. Her final novel, Small g: a Summer Idyll was published in 1995 shortly after her death. Below is a list of Patricia Highsmith’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Ripley Books

The Talented Mr. Ripley (1955)Description / Buy at
Ripley Under Ground (1970)Description / Buy at
Ripley's Game (1974)Description / Buy at
The Boy Who Followed Ripley (1980)Description / Buy at
Ripley Under Water (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Strangers on a Train (1950)Description / Buy at
The Price of Salt / Carol (1952)Description / Buy at
The Blunderer (1954)Description / Buy at
Deep Water (1957)Description / Buy at
A Game for the Living (1958)Description / Buy at
This Sweet Sickness (1960)Description / Buy at
The Cry of the Owl (1962)Description / Buy at
The Two Faces of January (1964)Description / Buy at
The Glass Cell (1964)Description / Buy at
A Suspension of Mercy / The Story-Teller (1965)Description / Buy at
Those Who Walk Away (1967)Description / Buy at
The Tremor of Forgery (1969)Description / Buy at
A Dog's Ransom (1972)Description / Buy at
Edith's Diary (1977)Description / Buy at
People Who Knock on the Door (1983)Description / Buy at
Found in the Street (1986)Description / Buy at
Small g (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Nothing That Meets the Eye (1968)Description / Buy at
Eleven / The Snail Watcher and Other Stories (1970)Description / Buy at
Little Tales of Misogyny (1974)Description / Buy at
The Animal-Lover's Book of Beastly Murder (1975)Description / Buy at
Slowly, Slowly in the Wind (1979)Description / Buy at
The Black House (1981)Description / Buy at
Mermaids on the Golf Course (1984)Description / Buy at
Tales of Natural and Unnatural Catastrophes (1987)Description / Buy at
Chillers (1990)Description / Buy at
The Selected Stories of Patricia Highsmith (2001)Description / Buy at
Sour Tales for Sweethearts (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Plotting and Writing Suspense Fiction (1966)Description / Buy at
Patricia Highsmith's Diaries and Notebooks: The New York Years, 1941-1950 (2021)Description / Buy at
Patricia Highsmith: Her Diaries and Notebooks: 1941-1995 (With: Anna von Planta) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Simply The Best Mysteries, Edgar Award Winners And Front Runners(1970)Description / Buy at
The Twelfth Pan Book of Horror Stories(1971)Description / Buy at
The 18th Pan Book of Horror Stories(1977)Description / Buy at
Verdict of Thirteen(1979)Description / Buy at
65 Great Tales Of Horror(1981)Description / Buy at
The Web She Weaves(1983)Description / Buy at
The 24th Pan Book of Horror Stories(1983)Description / Buy at
Great Baseball Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
Mystery Cats(1991)Description / Buy at
Fifty Best Mysteries(1993)Description / Buy at
Murder Intercontinental(1996)Description / Buy at
A Century of British Mystery and Suspense(2000)Description / Buy at
Crime Story Collection(2000)Description / Buy at
A Century of Great Suspense Stories(2001)Description / Buy at
Crime Never Pays(2001)Description / Buy at
Stranger: Dark Tales of Eerie Encounters(2002)Description / Buy at
Escape to Mexico: An Anthology of Great Writers(2002)Description / Buy at
Murder On The Railways(2003)Description / Buy at
The Campfire Collection: Ghosts, Beasts, and Things That Go Bump in the Night(2003)Description / Buy at
Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules(2005)Description / Buy at
A New Omnibus of Crime(2005)Description / Buy at
Feline Felonies(2006)Description / Buy at
Books to Die For(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Price of Salt was written under the pen name of Clare Morgan, and also published under the title of Carol. Eleven was also published as The Snail Watcher and Other Stories. Tales of Obsession: Mystery Stories of Fatal Attractions and Deadly Desires Joan Hess, Evan Hunter, P.D. James, Nancy Pickard, Ruth Rendell and Lawrence Treat. A Suspension of Mercy was also published as The Story-Teller.

If You Like Patricia Highsmith Books, You’ll Love…

Patricia Highsmith Synopsis: In The Cry of the Owl by Patricia Highsmith, Robert Forester is a decent man, but someone who trouble seems to find. When he begins watching the simple life of his neighbour, Jenny, through her window, her calm suburban Pennsylvania life is changed.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia Highsmith Books

Leave a Reply