Neal Asher is an English author of science fiction novels. He is the author of the Rise of the Jain series, the Agent Cormac series, the Novel of the Polity series, and the Jack Four series.

Asher lives in both Essex and Crete, dividing his time. He grew up as the son of two educators and science fiction fans, finding the genre at a young age. Neal actually first wrote speculative fiction in secondary school, but didn’t start on the path to becoming a writing until he was 25. His first short story was published in 1989. However, he wouldn’t have his first novel published until 2001 with the release of Gridlinked.

Get notified when Neal Asher releases a new book at

Publication Order of Agent Cormac Books

Publication Order of Owner Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Polity Universe Books

Publication Order of Far Future Polity Books

Publication Order of Jack Four Books

Publication Order of Polity Collections

The Engineer Reconditioned (1998)Description / Buy at
Runcible Tales (1999)Description / Buy at
The Gabble And Other Stories (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rise of the Jain Books

Publication Order of Spatterjay Books

The Skinner (2002)Description / Buy at
The Voyage of the Sable Keech (2006)Description / Buy at
Orbus (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Transformation Books

Dark Intelligence (2015)Description / Buy at
War Factory (2016)Description / Buy at
Infinity Engine (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Collections

The Engineer (1998)Description / Buy at
Mason's Rats (1999)Description / Buy at
Conflicts (With: Eric Brown,Keith Brooke) (2010)Description / Buy at
Owning the Future (2018)Description / Buy at
Lockdown Tales (2020)Description / Buy at
Fantastical (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Africa Zero (1994)Description / Buy at
Snow in the Desert (2002)Description / Buy at
Mindgames: Fool's Mate (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Story Behind the Book (With: Ken Scholes,Jay Posey) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Year's Best SF 8(2003)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Third Annual Collection(2006)Description / Buy at
Year's Best SF 11(2006)Description / Buy at
The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction(2007)Description / Buy at
Asimov's Science Fiction, June 2007(2007)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 21(2008)Description / Buy at
Space Pirates(2008)Description / Buy at
Subterfuge(2008)Description / Buy at
Conflicts(2010)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of SF Wars(2012)Description / Buy at
The Sixth Science Fiction Megapack(2013)Description / Buy at
In Space No One Can Hear You Scream(2013)Description / Buy at
Story Behind the Book(2014)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirty-First Annual Collection(2014)Description / Buy at
Total Conflict(2015)Description / Buy at
Galactic Empires(2017)Description / Buy at
Infinite Stars(2019)Description / Buy at
London Centric(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Neal Asher Books, You’ll Love…

The Soldier is the first book in the Rise of the Jain series. The book takes place in a far corner of space on the borders between humanity’s Polity worlds and the kingdom of the vicious crab-like prador. Here there is a threat to both races: a accretion disc which is a solar system designed by the Jain race that has enough technology to destroy entire civilizations. The two civilizations want to keep control of the technology away from the other so they put a third party in charge of protecting it.

The Agent Cormac series begins with Gridlinked. The story begins with the runcible buffers on Samarkand being mysteriously sabotaged. The act kills thousands and destroys a terraforming project. Agent Cormac is sent by ship to investigate what happened. However, he is not the only one heading that way as he earned the wrath of a psychopath named Pelter who is following him. Cormac will begin to investigate, discovering two alien beast, as he has to fight off the fury of Pelter. Cormac will need to rescue the Samarkand project will also trying to protect his own life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Neal Asher Books

Leave a Reply