Nevil Shute Norway (1899-1960) was an English-Australian novelist as well as an aeronautical engineer. He dropped the “Norway” from his pen name in order to protect his engineering career. His novels are not divided into series, but rather three categories – Pre-War (mostly pre-1940), War (1938-1947) and Australia (1948-1960). As he was an aeronautical engineer, aviation plays a big part in his novels.

Nevil Shute became a published author in 1926 with Marazan. Below is a list of Nevil Shute’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Marazan (1926)Description / Buy at
So Disdained / The Mysterious Aviator (1928)Description / Buy at
Lonely Road (1932)Description / Buy at
Ruined City / Kindling (1938)Description / Buy at
What Happened to the Corbetts / Ordeal (1939)Description / Buy at
An Old Captivity (1940)Description / Buy at
Landfall (1940)Description / Buy at
Pied Piper (1942)Description / Buy at
Pastoral (1944)Description / Buy at
Most Secret (1945)Description / Buy at
Vinland the Good (1946)Description / Buy at
The Chequer Board (1947)Description / Buy at
No Highway (1948)Description / Buy at
A Town Like Alice / The Legacy (1950)Description / Buy at
Round the Bend (1951)Description / Buy at
The Far Country (1952)Description / Buy at
In the Wet (1953)Description / Buy at
Slide Rule (1954)Description / Buy at
Requiem for a Wren / The Breaking Wave (1955)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Black Stump (1956)Description / Buy at
On the Beach (1957)Description / Buy at
The Rainbow and the Rose (1958)Description / Buy at
Trustee from the Toolroom (1960)Description / Buy at
Stephen Morris (1961)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great World War II Stories(1989)Description / Buy at
The Valancourt Book of Horror Stories: Volume Two(2017)Description / Buy at

Notes: So Disdained was also published as The Mysterious Aviator. Ruined City was also published as Kindling. What Happened to the Corbetts was also published as Ordeal. A Town Like Alice was also titled The Legacy. Requiem for a Wren was also titled The Breaking Wave.

If You Like Nevil Shute Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nevil Shute Books

4 Responses to “Order of Nevil Shute Books”

  1. Flor: 4 years ago

    Donde puedo conseguir Abandonados de nevile Shute ?


  2. Bubby: 8 years ago

    Where is the book “Kindling” listed? Great book, probably his 6th best.


  3. Val Norris: 10 years ago

    The name of the book written in 1944 was ‘Pastoral’ not Pastrol.


    • Brandon: 10 years ago



Leave a Reply