Nicholas Petrie is an author who burst onto the scene with his first novel, The Drifter. The novel won multiple awards including the 2016 Barry Award for Best First Novel as well as an award for Best Thriller.

Petried studied fiction at the University of Washington where he received his MFA. He also went to undergraduate school at the University of Michigan where he won a Hopwood Award for short fiction. After graduating, Petrie moved to Milwaukee where he worked as a carpenter and home inspector before having his breakthrough with The Drifter.

Get notified when Nick Petrie releases a new book at

Publication Order of Peter Ash Books

The Drifter (2016)Description / Buy at
Burning Bright (2017)Description / Buy at
Light It Up (2018)Description / Buy at
Tear It Down (2019)Description / Buy at
The Wild One (2020)Description / Buy at
The Breaker (2021)Description / Buy at
The Runaway (2022)Description / Buy at
The Price You Pay / The Heavy Lift (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nicholas Petrie Books, You’ll Love…

The Drifter is his first book and it introduces to the lead character, Lieutenant Peter Ash. In this book, Ash is a drifter wondering through the world, but that’s just what he looks like on the outside. In reality, he’s a Marine combat hero suffering from PTSD. He has some serious skills that have drawn him comparisons to Jack Reacher. When a friend of his from his Marine days dies from an apparent suicide, he re-enters society to help his friend’s wife out. What he finds will change everything and get him involved in something much larger than he had any intention of finding.

The second book in the series, Burning Bright, finds Ash once again looking to escape from society. In this book, he heads to the redwoods of Northern California in hope of some solitude. When he finds himself in a fight with a bear, even his combat skills are not enough to counter it, and he’s forced to flee. Here in the seemingly quiet, lonely wilderness he ends up finding someone who is trying to hide… and the people who are looking for her. Once again, Ash is pulled from society and right into another scenario where people need his help.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nick Petrie Books / Nicholas Petrie

One Response to “Order of Nick Petrie Books / Nicholas Petrie”

  1. Clareene: 4 years ago

    Wow, you really had a terrible time! Hope you are all better soon… I, on the other hand, have been sitting inside where it is warm reading like crazy! Yes, it gets cold in the Nevada desert too…I took your advise on Peter Ash books and am on the third in the series.


Leave a Reply