Pauline Gedge is a Canadian author of historical fiction, science fiction, fantasy and horror novels. Born in New Zealand and having spent several years in England, Pauline’s family eventually emigrated to Canada. She studied at the University of Manitoba and attended teachers’ college in New Zealand. After writing poetry for years that went unpublished, Pauline tried her hand at fiction. She turned to ancient Egypt and the result was her debut novel, Child of the Morning. She has two sons, Simon and Roger.

Pauline Gedge became a published author in 1977 with the novel Child of the Morning. Below is a list of Pauline Gedge’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Pauline Gedge releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lady Of The Reeds Books

Lady of the Reeds / House of Dreams (1994)Description / Buy at
House of Illusions (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lords Of The Two Lands Books

The Hippopotamus Marsh (1998)Description / Buy at
The Oasis (1998)Description / Buy at
The Horus Road (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The King's Man Books

The Twice Born (2007)Description / Buy at
Seer of Egypt (2008)Description / Buy at
The King's Man (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Child of the Morning (1977)Description / Buy at
The Eagle and the Raven (1978)Description / Buy at
Stargate (1982)Description / Buy at
The Twelfth Transforming (1984)Description / Buy at
Scroll of Saqqara / Mirage (1990)Description / Buy at
The Covenant (1992)Description / Buy at

Notes: Lady of the Reeds was also published as House of Dreams. Scroll of Saqqara is also known as Mirage.

If You Like Pauline Gedge Books, You’ll Love…

Pauline Gedge Synopsis: Child of the Morning is a standalone title by Pauline Gedge. A mix of passionate intrigue and sensuous exoticism, Child of the Morning resurrects the life of the awesome Hatshepsut, the only woman pharaoh of ancient Egypt, whose name was erased from history by her enemies, outraged at having to bow to a woman’s command.

Scroll of Saqqara is a standalone novel by Pauline Gedge. Prince Khaemwaset is a powerful man. The son of Ramses II and a revered physician, his wisdom is respected throughout Egypt. But Khaemwaset harbours a strong and secret desire – to locate the mysterious Scroll of Thoth and receive the power to raise the dead. When Khaemwaset hears of the discovery of a hidden tomb on the plain of Saqqara, he is quick to break its seal and take its secrets – ones that he soon learns he should never have disturbed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Pauline Gedge Books

2 Responses to “Order of Pauline Gedge Books”

  1. steve lawrence: 3 years ago

    Pauline Gedge is a very under rated author.Brilliant,captivating storytelling skills.I was blown away when i read The Eagle And The Raven.No,I was blown away reading all her books!


  2. Mongoose218: 7 years ago

    Wonderful books!

    Historically accurate, and (for instance) in the trilogy “the Lords of the Two Lands” she gives the reader an thorough “afterward” that clarifies what is historically known about that time, especially as it relates to the novels. I have many non fiction books on ancient Egypt, its a hobby of mine, and as she has written, the king who fought the invaders was terribly brutalized in the battle in which he died. Other facts, the gifts given to the royal ladies after the war was over, are exactly as she describes them.

    Aside from the “Lords of the Two Lands” Trilogy, I especially love “Child of the Morning” about the female pharaoh Hatshepsut…..She was a truly remarkable woman, but after her death her nephew and heir destroyed all records of her existence….they were only rediscovered in modern times.

    “The Twelfth Transforming” is a very dark historical novel about the very strange pharaoh, Akhenaton….he is famous for being perhaps the first monotheist in history, but as the fictionalized biography describes, he was also a very strange man. His queen Nefertiti, is famous of course, for her extreme beauty…..but there are many questions as to what happened to the two of them, to their daughters, what relationship was Tutanhkamon to Akhenaton, and so on…..

    I have found all of Gedge’s books to worth reading….for those interested in ancient Egypt, or just interested in a totally different time and place, which she brings to life!


Leave a Reply