Peggy Blair is a Canadian author and lawyer. She is the author of the Inspector Ramirez series which began with The Beggar’s Opera.

Blair has been a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada since 1990. She is best known for her work as lead counsel in the R. v. Jones and Nadjiwon case which was the first Canadian case to recognize Aboriginal and treaty rights to fish commercially in priority to other users. She attended the University of Ottawa where she earned her Masters in law and her doctorate in law. She left law in the year 2010 to find work as a realtor and begin her career as an author.

Get notified when Peggy Blair releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Ramírez Books

The Beggar's Opera / Midnight in Havana (2012)Description / Buy at
The Poisoned Pawn (2013)Description / Buy at
Hungry Ghosts (2015)Description / Buy at
Umbrella Man (2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peggy Blair Books, You’ll Love…

The Beggar’s Opera introduces us to Inspector Ricardo Ramirez, head of the Major Crimes Unit of the Cuban National Revolutionary Police. The book sees a little Cuban boy who has gone missing after begging a Canadian couple for a few pesos. Ramirez needs to find the killer, but he has only seventy-two hours to do so thanks to Cuban law. He’ll need to work fast to prevent the killer from leaving the island. Ramirez has plenty of troubles of his own including his dementia that makes him see the ghosts of victims of unsolved murders. The dead haunt every step he takes as he races to catch the killer.

The series continues with The Poisoned Pawn. This book sees Ramirez dispatched to Canada to take custody of a priest found with a laptop full of disturbing pictures of Cuban children. While he is gone, women start dying in Havana. Ramirez finds himself powerless to assists and instead works to untangle a web of deceit and depravity that extends from Ottawa to the Vatican. His search will lead him to many answers including what is killing Cuban women.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peggy Blair Books

Leave a Reply