Phil Rickman
Phil Rickman is an English author of mystery and supernatural-themed novels. Aside from his real name, he has also written under the pen names of Thom Madley and Will Kingdom. Rickman has worked for BBC World Service TV and BBC Radio 4 as a journalist. Although he often uses supernatural themes in his novels, he researches the various topics and if he can’t believe in it himself, he doesn’t include it in his writing. Rickman writes the Merrily Watkins series as well as the John Dee Papers series.

Phil Rickman became a published author in 1991 with the standalone novel Candlenight. Below is a list of Phil Rickman’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Phil Rickman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Books

The Wine of Angels (1998)Description / Buy at
Midwinter of the Spirit (1999)Description / Buy at
A Crown of Lights (2001)Description / Buy at
The Cure of Souls (2001)Description / Buy at
The Lamp of the Wicked (2003)Description / Buy at
The Prayer of the Night Shepherd (2004)Description / Buy at
The Smile of a Ghost (2005)Description / Buy at
The Remains of an Altar (2006)Description / Buy at
The Fabric of Sin (2007)Description / Buy at
To Dream of the Dead (2008)Description / Buy at
The Secrets of Pain (2011)Description / Buy at
The Magus of Hay (2013)Description / Buy at
The House of Susan Lulham (2014)Description / Buy at
Friends of the Dusk (2015)Description / Buy at
All of a Winter's Night (2017)Description / Buy at
The Fever of the World (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Companion Books

Merrily's Border (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Grayle Underhill & Bobby Maiden Books

The Cold Calling (1996)Description / Buy at
Mean Spirit (2001)Description / Buy at
Night After Night (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of John Dee Papers Books

The Bones of Avalon (2010)Description / Buy at
The Heresy of Dr Dee (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Marco Books

Marco's Pendulum (2006)Description / Buy at
Marco and the Blade of Night (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best of Cemetery Dance II(2008)Description / Buy at

Notes: Crybbe was re-published under the title Curfew (in the USA). The Grayle Underhill and Bobby Maiden series was written as Will Kingdom. The Marco series is written as Thom Madley.

If You Like Phil Rickman Books, You’ll Love…

Phil Rickman Synopsis: Candlenight by Phil Rickman is a supernatural thriller standalone title and the author’s debut novel. Bethan is a schoolteacher from a village in West Wales who looks down upon the old superstitions that are apart of the village’s history and folklore. For that reason, she is glad to welcome a London journalist named Giles Freeman and his wife Claire to the village, but they are excited to take in a new culture and a new lifestyle. They will soon find out that the Welsh village holds an ancient, scary pagan secret that could haunt them forever.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Phil Rickman Books

Leave a Reply