Robert Goddard
Robert Goddard is an English novelist of crime thriller and mystery novels. Goddard grew up in Hampshire, England and attended the University of Cambridge, where he studied history. He went onto careers in journalism and teaching, which didn’t work out, and after working as an educational administrator, he decided to start writing on a full-time basis. Goddard’s novels often go back in time to somewhere in the past before moving on to present day. Robert lives in Truro, Cornwall with his wife Vaunda.

Robert Goddard became a published author in 1986 with the novel Past Caring. Below is a list of Robert Goddard’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Robert Goddard releases a new book at

Publication Order of Harry Barnett Books

Publication Order of James "Max" Maxted Books

The Ways of the World (2013)Description / Buy at
The Corners of the Globe (2014)Description / Buy at
The Ends of the Earth (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Umiko Wada Books

The Fine Art of Invisible Detection (2021)Description / Buy at
The Fine Art of Uncanny Prediction (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Past Caring (1986)Description / Buy at
In Pale Battalions (1988)Description / Buy at
Painting the Darkness (1989)Description / Buy at
Take No Farewell / Debt of Dishonour (1991)Description / Buy at
Hand in Glove (1992)Description / Buy at
Closed Circle (1993)Description / Buy at
Borrowed Time (1995)Description / Buy at
Beyond Recall (1997)Description / Buy at
Caught in the Light (1998)Description / Buy at
Set in Stone (1999)Description / Buy at
Sea Change (2000)Description / Buy at
Dying to Tell (2001)Description / Buy at
Days Without Number (2003)Description / Buy at
Play to the End (2004)Description / Buy at
Sight Unseen (2005)Description / Buy at
Name to a Face (2007)Description / Buy at
Found Wanting (2008)Description / Buy at
Long Time Coming (2009)Description / Buy at
Blood Count (2010)Description / Buy at
Fault Line (2012)Description / Buy at
Ends of the Earth (2015)Description / Buy at
Panic Room (2017)Description / Buy at
One False Move (2019)Description / Buy at
This is the Night They Come for You (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best British Mysteries IV(2007)Description / Buy at
First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: Take No Farewell was also published under the title of Debt of Dishonour.

If You Like Robert Goddard Books, You’ll Love…

Robert Goddard Synopsis: In Robert Goddard’s debut novel, Past Caring, it’s Edwardian times and Edwin Stafford is a Cabinet minister at the top of his game. But why should he resign from his post? Why is he being rejected by the woman who has heart? And why after 70 years are people still trying to withhold the answer to all of these questions? In modern times, Martin Radford is an unemployed history grad who is excited to head off to Madeira and find out the reason why Stafford’s life and career both went down the tubes. But his trip goes sour when his investigation sets off a domino effect that puts him against those who had thought they had gotten away with crimes they committed long ago.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Goddard Books

2 Responses to “Order of Robert Goddard Books”

  1. Rob: 3 years ago

    Do you have any other retail distributor(s), here in the United States, OTHR THAN AMAZON.COM, where we can purchase your (Robert Goddard’s) books? Thanks.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      We just list the books and refer to Amazon – you can choose to purchase them from any outlets in the USA 🙂


Leave a Reply