Robert Littell
Robert Littell is an American author of spy fiction. Born in Brooklyn, Littell graduated from Alfred University in 1956. After serving in the U.S. Navy for four years, he became a journalist for Newsweek during the Cold War. In his spare time, he is an amateur mountain climber. His son, Jonathan, is also a writer. Littell lives in France.

Robert Littell became a published novelist in 1969 with the alternate history novel If Israel Lost the War. The novel was written with Richard Z. Chesnoff and Edward Klein. His next published work was a picture book entitled Left and Right with Lion and Ryan, which came out in 1970. His debut solo novel was The Defection of A.J. Lewinter, which was published in 1973. The novel went on to win the British Crime Writers’ Association’s Gold Dagger Award. Below is a list of Robert Littell’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Robert Littell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If Israel Lost the War (1969)Description / Buy at
The Defection of A.J. Lewinter (1973)Description / Buy at
Sweet Reason (1974)Description / Buy at
The October Circle (1976)Description / Buy at
Mother Russia (1978)Description / Buy at
The Debriefing (1979)Description / Buy at
The Amateur (1981)Description / Buy at
The Sisters (1985)Description / Buy at
The Revolutionist (1988)Description / Buy at
The Once and Future Spy (1990)Description / Buy at
An Agent in Place (1992)Description / Buy at
The Visiting Professor (1993)Description / Buy at
Walking Back the Cat (1997)Description / Buy at
The Company (2002)Description / Buy at
Legends (2005)Description / Buy at
Vicious Circle (2006)Description / Buy at
The Stalin Epigram (2009)Description / Buy at
Young Philby (2011)Description / Buy at
A Nasty Piece of Work (2013)Description / Buy at
The Mayakovsky Tapes (2016)Description / Buy at
Vladimir M. (2017)Description / Buy at
Comrade Koba (2020)Description / Buy at
A Plague on Both Your Houses (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Left and Right with Lion and Ryan (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

For the Future of Israel (With: Shimon Peres) (1998)Description / Buy at

Note: If Israel Lost the War was written with Richard Z. Chesnoff and Edward Klein. The non-fiction book For the Future of Israel was co-authored with Shimon Peres.

If You Like Robert Littell Books, You’ll Love…

Robert Littell Synopsis: In the novel Sweet Reason by Robert Littell, the U.S.S. Eugene F. Ebersole is patrolling the Southeast Asian waters as the Cold War is beginning to heat up. The old destroyer’s mission is to apprehend or destroy anything that might be the enemy, but the crew isn’t quite as gung ho as the commander.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Littell Books

One Response to “Order of Robert Littell Books”

  1. Adam James: 4 years ago

    I read The Company quite a few years ago, before the movie (muh) came out. Now I am in the grips of Legends, which I find fascinating in a million different ways. A few days ago I read the part about Triple Border, which is a very real and nasty place. He said bin Laden was there in the late 1990s. Who knows it could be true. If not him, loads of bad actors. There’s a movie about Triple Border. I think I already saw it. The previews look good, but . . .

    Last night I read the part about a Soviet/Russian bio-warfare lab. Ewww. Will humans and all the rest ever survive all this nonsense? Stay tuned . . .


Leave a Reply