Martin Cruz Smith is an American author of mystery novels. Before becoming a fiction author, Martin worked as a journalist for four years. Martin is best known for his novels Nightwing and his Arkady Renko series. Martin Cruz Smith has won the British Crime Writers’ Association’s Gold Dagger Award as well as the Dashiell Hammett Award (twice) from the International Association of Crime Writers’ North American Branch.

Martin Cruz Smith began his career with Gypsy in Amber in 1971, part of the Romano Grey series. Below is a list of Martin Cruz Smith’s books in order of when they were first released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Martin Cruz Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of Arkady Renko Books

Publication Order of The Inquisitor Books

(as Simon Quinn)

The Devil in Kansas (1974)Description / Buy at
The Last Time I Saw Hell (As:Simon Quinn) (1974)Description / Buy at
Nuplex Red (1974)Description / Buy at
His Eminence, Death (1974)Description / Buy at
The Midas Coffin (1975)Description / Buy at
Last Rites for the Vulture (1975)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nick Carter: Killmaster Books

The Inca Death Squad (1972)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Dozen (1973)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Roman Grey Books

Gypsy in Amber (1971)Description / Buy at
Canto for a Gypsy (1972)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Indians Won (1970)Description / Buy at
The Analog Bullet (1972)Description / Buy at
The Human Factor (As:Simon Quinn) (1975)Description / Buy at
The Midas Coffin (As: Simon Quinn) (1975)Description / Buy at
The Adventures ofthe Wilderness Family (1976)Description / Buy at
Nightwing (1977)Description / Buy at
Ride for Revenge (1980)Description / Buy at
Stallion Gate (1986)Description / Buy at
Rose (1996)Description / Buy at
Tokyo Station / December 6 (2002)Description / Buy at
The Girl from Venice (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Death by Espionage: Intriguing Stories of Betrayal and Deception(1970)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Inquisitor series along with the novel Human Factor were written under the pen name Simon Quinn. Tokyo Station was also published as December 6. The Nick Carter: Killmaster were written under the house name of Nick Carter. The Adventures of the Wilderness Family was written under the pen name Martin Quinn. Ride for Revenge was written using the pseudonym Jake Logan.

If You Like Martin Cruz Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Martin Cruz Smith Books

2 Responses to “Order of Martin Cruz Smith Books”

  1. Bobby Huggins: 5 years ago



    • Graeme: 5 years ago


      Not sure why you deleted your comment – you had asked why December 6 wasn’t listed. It is however it’s listed as “Tokyo Station”. One of those books that has alternate names. I’ll make a note to update the listing however to reflect both names.


Leave a Reply