Roger Silverwood is an English author who writes crime stories about Detective Inspector Michael Angel. Angel is a unique detective in that he isn’t a drunk or a drug user, he doesn’t even smoke. He doesn’t chase woman like other detectives and is married to a woman named Mary. He’s ultimately an honest man, albeit one that is hard up and in debt. Angel has a reputation for always getting his man simply because he is incredibly stubborn and will do whatever it takes to finish the case.

The series, also known as the Yorkshire Murder Mysteries series, starts with The Missing Nurse. Silverwood is a retired antiques dealer, a business he ran with his wife, and now enjoys retirement and concentrates on writing.

Get notified when Roger Silverwood releases a new book at

Publication Order of D.I. Angel / Yurkshire Murder Mystery Books

In the Midst of Life / The Missing Nurse (2004)Description / Buy at
Choker / The Missing Wife (2004)Description / Buy at
The Man in the Pink Suit (2005)Description / Buy at
The Importance Of Being Honest / The Morals of a Murderer (2005)Description / Buy at
Mantrap / The Auction Murders (2006)Description / Buy at
Sham / The Missing Killer (2006)Description / Buy at
The Curious Mind of Inspector Angel / The Umbrella Murders / The Missing Thief (2007)Description / Buy at
The Umbrella Man / The Missing Millionaire (2007)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Couldn't Lose (2007)Description / Buy at
Find the Lady (2008)Description / Buy at
The Wig Maker / The Missing Model (2008)Description / Buy at
Murder in Bare Feet (2008)Description / Buy at
Wild About Harry / Missing, Presumed.... / The Missing Husband (2009)Description / Buy at
The Cuckoo Clock Scam / Murders (2010)Description / Buy at
Shrine to Murder (2010)Description / Buy at
The Snuffbox Murders (2010)Description / Buy at
The Dog Collar Murders (2011)Description / Buy at
The Cheshire Cat Murders (2012)Description / Buy at
The Diamond Rosary Murders (2012)Description / Buy at
The Big Fiddle / Thirteen Steps to Murder (2013)Description / Buy at
The Fruit Gum Murders (2014)Description / Buy at
The Money Tree Murders (2014)Description / Buy at
Angel and the Actress (2015)Description / Buy at
The Murder List (2016)Description / Buy at
The Lipstick Murders / The Face of a Murderer (2016)Description / Buy at
The Music Box Murders (2021)Description / Buy at
Murder On Time (2021)Description / Buy at
Angel's Final Problem? (2021)Description / Buy at
Angel and the Nun (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Superintendent Cawthorn Books

Deadly Daffodils / Dead Ahead (1970)Description / Buy at
Dying for a Drink (1971)Description / Buy at
The Illegitimate Spy (1972)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Salamander (2006)Description / Buy at
The Guilty Daughter (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Part XVIII: Whatever Remains . . . Must Be the Truth 1899-1925(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Roger Silverwood Books, You’ll Love…

The Missing Nurse sees on the case of a missing nurse named Fiona. The story begins when a couple out walking at night surprises a man who was carrying a bag. The man is stirred and throws the bag and runs away. The bag ends up containing the body of a murdered woman and when they try to contact the dead woman’s sister, she is also found to be missing. This brings in Angel who unravels the case which takes him all the way back to a murder at an insane asylum twenty years ago. A great mystery with a great lead character that starts rough, but becomes funnier as it goes on.

Another popular book in the series is called The Morals of a Murderer. In this book, Angel is on the case of a gin maker named Duncan McFee who is savagely murdered in his distillery. This case is tricky enough for Angel, but then he also has a jailbird and bank robber named Morris Yardley who is trying to buy his freedom with the proceeds of his last heist, insisting Angel acts as his go-between.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Roger Silverwood Books

Leave a Reply