Photo Credit: Mark Haskett
Ron Rash is an American author of Southern fiction novels, short stories and poetry. In addition to being an author, he is also the Parris Distinguished Professor in Appalachian Cultural Studies at Western Carolina University. His short stories have been featured in over 100 publications. He is the winner of the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award – considered to be the most presitigious prize in short fiction. His 2008 novel Serena has been optioned for film, starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper.

Ron Rash became a published author in 1994 with the short story collection The Night the New Jesus Fell to Earth and Other Stories from Cliffside, North Carolina. His first poetry collection was published in 1998, entitled Eureka Mill. His first novel was One Foot in Eden, published in 2002. Below is a list of Ron Rash’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Ron Rash releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

One Foot in Eden (2002)Description / Buy at
Saints at the River (2004)Description / Buy at
The World Made Straight (2006)Description / Buy at
Serena (2008)Description / Buy at
The Cove (2012)Description / Buy at
Above the Waterfall (2014)Description / Buy at
The Risen (2016)Description / Buy at
The Caretaker (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Night the New Jesus Fell to Earth and Other Stories from Cliffside, North Carolina (1994)Description / Buy at
Eureka Mill (1998)Description / Buy at
Casualties (2000)Description / Buy at
Among the Believers (2000)Description / Buy at
Raising the Dead (2002)Description / Buy at
Chemistry and Other Stories (2007)Description / Buy at
Burning Bright (2010)Description / Buy at
Waking (2011)Description / Buy at
My Father Like a River (2013)Description / Buy at
Nothing Gold Can Stay (2013)Description / Buy at
The Ron Rash Reader (2014)Description / Buy at
Something Rich and Strange: Selected Stories (2014)Description / Buy at
Poems: New and Selected (2016)Description / Buy at
In the Valley (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Shark's Tooth (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Eclipse Over Clemson (With: Nic Brown,Jim Melvin,Patrick McMillan,Drew Lanham) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe II(2003)Description / Buy at
Stories from the Blue Moon Cafe V(2006)Description / Buy at
27 Views of Asheville: A Southern Mountain Town in Prose & Poetry(2012)Description / Buy at
Astoria to Zion(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder Under the Oaks(2015)Description / Buy at
Our Prince of Scribes(2018)Description / Buy at
Gather at the River(2019)Description / Buy at
A Literary Field Guide to Southern Appalachia(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ron Rash Books, You’ll Love…

Ron Rash Synopses: Serena by Ron Rash is a historical gothic-themed story that deals with greed, corruption and revenge that is set in the 1930s.

Eureka Mill by Ron Rash is a poetry collection that covers migrations into the Applachian farmers to the mill villages of Piedmont. Rash uses the memories of his parents and grandparents to paint a picture of what it was like to be in the cotton mills – including long days, low pay and no self-sufficiency.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ron Rash Books

Leave a Reply