Ruta Sepetys is an American author of historical fiction. She was awarded the Rockefeller Foundation’s prestigious Bellagio Fellowship for her studies on human resilience and her books have won or been nominated for numerous books. One of her greatest awards was earning the Cross of the Knight of the Order by the President of Lithuania for her contributions to education and memory preservation and even getting a stamp with her picture on it.

Ruta was born in Michigan as the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Her family was filled with artists, readers, and music lovers who encouraged her artistic side from an early age. She has had a lifelong fascination with history and has used her novels to help give voices to some of the underrepresented parts of it.

Get notified when Ruta Sepetys releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Between Shades of Gray / Ashes in the Snow (2011)Description / Buy at
Out of the Easy (2013)Description / Buy at
Salt to the Sea (2016)Description / Buy at
The Fountains of Silence (2019)Description / Buy at
I Must Betray You (2022)Description / Buy at
The Bletchley Riddle (With: Steve Sheinkin) (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

(with Andrew Donkin)

Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel (With: Andrew Donkin) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

You: The Story: A Writer's Guide to Craft Through Memory (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Andrew Donkin Graphic Novels

(with Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Jonathan Stroud)

The Amulet of Samarkand (By: Andrew Donkin,Jonathan Stroud) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Supernaturalist (By: Eoin Colfer,Andrew Donkin) (2012)Description / Buy at
Illegal (By: Eoin Colfer,Andrew Donkin) (2018)Description / Buy at
Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel (With: Andrew Donkin) (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ruta Sepetys Books, You’ll Love…

Between Shades of Gray is one of Sepetys’ biggest books. The story follows a 15-year old Lithuanian girl named Lina who is living an ordinary life until the Soviet forces invade her home. The family is torn apart, but Lina makes her way to a Siberian work camp with her mother and younger brother. Lina finds solace in art through her drawing. The art helps her to retain a part of herself and keep a strong hold on hopes of survival, which many in the camp are unable to do for themselves.

Another great book is Salt to the Sea. This book takes place near the end of World War II in East Prussia as thousands of refugees seek freedom. The book follows Joana, Emilia, and Florian who meet en route to a ship that promises salvation. The three are forced to unite and must find trust in each other if they have any hopes of surviving this terrible time.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ruta Sepetys Books

Leave a Reply