Saad Z. Hossain is a Bangladeshi author of satirical, science fiction and fantasy novels. He enjoys reading, and finds that it helps him deal with his own writer’s block. His novels are written in English. Saad lives in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Saad Z. Hossain as a novelist in 2012 with Escape from Baghdad!. Below is a list of Saad Z. Hossain’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Saad Z. Hossain releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Escape from Baghdad! / Baghdad Immortals (2012)Description / Buy at
Djinn City (2017)Description / Buy at
The Gurkha and the Lord of Tuesday (2019)Description / Buy at
Cyber Mage (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Kundo Wakes Up (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Apex Book of World SF 4(2015)Description / Buy at
New Suns 2(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Saad Z. Hossain Books, You’ll Love…

Saad Z. Hossain Synopsis: Escape from Baghdad! is a standalone novel by Saad Z. Hossain. Welcome to Baghdad during the US invasion. A desperate American military has created a power vacuum that needs to be filled. Religious fanatics, mercenaries, occultists, and soldiers are all looking to gain power. So how do regular folks manage to get by?

If you’re Dagr and Kinza, a former economics professor and a streetwise hoodlum, you turn to dealing in the black market. But everything is about to change, because they have inherited a very important prisoner: the star torturer of Hussein’s recently collapsed regime, Captain Hamid, who promises them untold riches if they smuggle him out of Baghdad.

With the heat on and nothing left for them in Baghdad, they enlist the help of Private Hoffman, their partner in crime and a U.S. Marine. In the chaos of a city without rule, getting out of Baghdad is no easy task and when they become embroiled in a mystery surrounding an ancient watch that doesn’t tell time, nothing will ever be the same.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Saad Z. Hossain Books

Leave a Reply