Sandra Dallas is an American author of adult, YA, and children’s fiction novels and non-fiction books. Sandra earned her Journalism degree from the University of Denver. She began her career as a writer working as a reporter for Business Week, and ended up working there for 25 years. During her time there, she wrote about topics including penny-stock scandals, hard-rock mining, western energy development, and contemporary polygamy. Many of her experiences have inspired her fiction. Sandra lives in Denver, Colorado with her husband, Bob, and has two adult daughters.

Sandra Dallas made her debut as an author in 1965 with the non-fiction book Gaslights and Gingerbread. She moved to fiction in 1990 with the novel Buster Midnight’s Cafe. Below is a list of Sandra Dallas’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Sandra Dallas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Buster Midnight's Cafe (1990)Description / Buy at
The Persian Pickle Club (1995)Description / Buy at
Prayers for Sale (1997)Description / Buy at
The Diary of Mattie Spenser (1997)Description / Buy at
Alice's Tulips (2000)Description / Buy at
The Chili Queen (2002)Description / Buy at
New Mercies (2005)Description / Buy at
Tallgrass (2007)Description / Buy at
Whiter Than Snow (2010)Description / Buy at
The Bride's House (2011)Description / Buy at
The Quilt Walk (2012)Description / Buy at
True Sisters (2012)Description / Buy at
Fallen Women (2013)Description / Buy at
Red Berries, White Clouds, Blue Sky (2014)Description / Buy at
A Quilt for Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at
The Last Midwife (2015)Description / Buy at
Hardscrabble (2018)Description / Buy at
The Patchwork Bride (2018)Description / Buy at
Someplace to Call Home (2019)Description / Buy at
Westering Women (2020)Description / Buy at
Little Souls (2022)Description / Buy at
Tenmile (2022)Description / Buy at
Where Coyotes Howl (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

No More Than Five in a Bed (1962)Description / Buy at
Gaslights and Gingerbread (1965)Description / Buy at
Cherry Creek Gothic (1971)Description / Buy at
Yesterday's Denver (1974)Description / Buy at
Sacred Paint (1979)Description / Buy at
Colorado Ghost Towns and Mining Camps (1985)Description / Buy at
Colorado Homes (1986)Description / Buy at
The Quilt That Walked to Golden (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Spoilt Quilt and Other Frontier Stories(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sandra Dallas Books, You’ll Love…

Sandra Dallas Synopses: Buster Midnight’s Cafe is a standalone title by Sandra Dallas. May Anna Kovacks was discovered on the dustry streets of Butte, Montana and went on to become a Hollywood star. War, fame, marriage, love, and heartbreak came and went. What never changed was the bond she shared with her two best friends, Effa Commander and Whippy Bird. When scandal, murder, and betrayal made a legend of May Anna, only Effa and Whippy Bird could set the record straight.

In The Quilt Walk by Sandra Dallas, the year is 1863 and 10-year-old Emmy Blue Hatchett has been told by her father that their family be moving from their Illinois farm for a new life in Colorado. It’s difficult leaving family and friends behind. They might not see one another ever again. When Emmy’s grandmother comes to say goodbye, she gives Emmy a special gift to keep her occupied on the trip. The journey by wagon train is long and full of hardships. But the Hatchetts persevere and reach their destination in Colorado, ready to start anew.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sandra Dallas Books

Leave a Reply