Sarah Painter is the author of the Crow Investigations series of books. She made her debut as an author in 2013 with The Language of Spells, the first in a series of the same name.

Prior to writing novels, Painted worked as a freelance journalist, blogger, and editor. She makes her home in Scotland where she lives with her husband and their children. In addition to her work as an author, Sarah is also does a podcast about writing called The Worried Writer Podcast where she interviews other authors.

Get notified when Sarah Painter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Crow Investigations Books

The Night Raven (2018)Description / Buy at
The Silver Mark (2019)Description / Buy at
The Fox's Curse (2019)Description / Buy at
The Pearl King (2020)Description / Buy at
The Copper Heart (2020)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Wing (2021)Description / Buy at
The Broken Cage (2022)Description / Buy at
The Magpie Key (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Language of Spells Books

The Language of Spells (2013)Description / Buy at
The Garden of Magic (2015)Description / Buy at
The Secrets of Ghosts (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Unholy Island Books

The Ward Witch (2023)Description / Buy at
The Book Keeper (2024)Description / Buy at
The Island God (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Light of What We See (2016)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Water (2018)Description / Buy at
The Lost Girls (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Stop Worrying; Start Writing: How to Overcome Fear, Self-Doubt and Procrastination (2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sarah Painter Books, You’ll Love…

The Night Raven is the first book in the Crow Investigations series. Lydia has always known that she has no power. Her family is an infamous and dodgy magical family, but she has managed to make a name for herself away from them as a private investigator in London. She is forced home after a professional snafu and is asked for a favor by the head of her family. Lydia begins investigating her missing cousin, Maddie, but soon finds her in a world of trouble with a ghost as a flatmate while tensions rise between old magical families. There has been a truce between the four magical families and Maddie’s disappearance could be the thing that breaks it.

The Lost Girls follows Rose MacLeod who has been losing gaps of time for as long as she can remember. She is trying to have a normal life, but is haunted by memories of violence and death. One day she meets Mal Fergusson, an investigator and former demon hunter, who has been sent to capture her by his demonic boss. He decided that as long as he didn’t kill humans that he wouldn’t be lost, but this situation with Rose will be his ultimate test. When Mal learns of Rose’s memory issue, the two will team together to solve the impossible puzzle of her life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sarah Painter Books

Leave a Reply