Sax Rohmer
Sax Rohmer was the pen name of English author Arthur Henry Sarsfield Ward (1883-1959), who was best known for his Fu Manchu series. Rohmer had a working class background, growing up in Birmingham, England. He worked as a poet, songwriter and comedy sketch writer for music hall performers prior to becoming a novelist.

Sax Rohmer made his debut as a published author in 1910, with an anonymously published book entitled Pause! (long since out of print). His debut as Sax Rohmer came in 1913 with the novel The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu. Below is a list of Sax Rohmer’s book in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Fu Manchu Books

The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu / The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu (1913)Description / Buy at
The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu / The Devil Doctor (1916)Description / Buy at
The Hand of Fu-Manchu / The Si-Fan Mysteries (1917)Description / Buy at
The Daughter of Fu-Manchu (1931)Description / Buy at
The Mask of Fu-Manchu (1932)Description / Buy at
The Bride of Fu-Manchu / Fu-Manchu's Bride (1933)Description / Buy at
The Trail of Fu-Manchu (1934)Description / Buy at
President Fu-Manchu (1936)Description / Buy at
The Drums of Fu-Manchu (1939)Description / Buy at
The Island of Fu-Manchu (1940)Description / Buy at
The Shadow of Fu-Manchu (1948)Description / Buy at
Re-enter Fu-Manchu (1957)Description / Buy at
Emperor Fu-Manchu (1959)Description / Buy at
The Wrath of Fu-Manchu (1973)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gaston Max Books

The Yellow Claw (1915)Description / Buy at
The Golden Scorpion (1919)Description / Buy at
The Day the World Ended (1929)Description / Buy at
Seven Sins (1943)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Paul Harley Books

Publication Order of "Red" Kerry Books

Publication Order of Sumuru Books

The Sins of Sumuru / Nude in Mink (1950)Description / Buy at
Sumuru / The Slaves of Sumuru (1951)Description / Buy at
Virgin in Flames / The Fire Goddess (1953)Description / Buy at
Return Of Sumuru / Sand and Satin (1954)Description / Buy at
Sinister Madonna (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Exploits of Captain O'Hagan (1916)Description / Buy at
Brood of the Witch Queen (1918)Description / Buy at
The Orchard of Tears (1918)Description / Buy at
The Quest of the Sacred Slipper (1919)Description / Buy at
The Green Eyes of Bast (1920)Description / Buy at
Grey Face (1924)Description / Buy at
Emperor of America (1927)Description / Buy at
Moon of Madness (1927)Description / Buy at
She Who Sleeps (1928)Description / Buy at
Yu'an Hee See laughs, (1932)Description / Buy at
The Bat Flies Low (1935)Description / Buy at
White Velvet (1936)Description / Buy at
Bimbashi Baruk of Egypt / Egyptian Nights (1944)Description / Buy at
Hangover House (1949)Description / Buy at
Wulfheim (1950)Description / Buy at
The Moon Is Red (1954)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Man with the Shaven Skull (1920)Description / Buy at
Tcheriapin (1922)Description / Buy at
The Pigtail of Hi Wing Ho (2004)Description / Buy at
The Daughter of Huang Chow (2004)Description / Buy at
Kerry's Kid (2004)Description / Buy at
The White Hat (2004)Description / Buy at
The Mysterious Mummy (2010)Description / Buy at
A House Possessed (2011)Description / Buy at
Breath of Allah (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Sins of Severac Bablon (1914)Description / Buy at
Tales of Secret Egypt (1918)Description / Buy at
The Dream Detective (1920)Description / Buy at
The Secret Of Holm Peel (1970)Description / Buy at
Tales of East and West (1976)Description / Buy at
The Haunting of Low Fennel (2006)Description / Buy at
The Leopard Couch (2012)Description / Buy at
The Methods of Moris Klaw (2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Chinatown (2015)Description / Buy at
From Limehouse to Cairo (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Romance of Sorcery (1914)Description / Buy at
A Guide to Magic, Sorcery and the Paranormal (2002)Description / Buy at
Little Tich (With: Llittle Tich) (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fifty Famous Detectives of Fiction(1948)Description / Buy at
Great Black Magic Stories(1974)Description / Buy at
Graphic Classics, Volume 12: Adventure Classics(2005)Description / Buy at
Favourite Spy Stories(2014)Description / Buy at
Pulp Adventures #33(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Mystery of Dr. Fu-Manchu was also published as The Insidious Dr. Fu-Manchu. The Devil Doctor is also known as The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu. The Si-Fan Mysteries is also titled The Hand of Fu-Manchu. Fu Manchu’s Bride was also published under the title The Bride of Fu Manchu. Re-Enter Fu Manchu is also known as Re-Enter Dr. Fu Manchu.

Nude in Mink was also published as Sins of Sumuru. Sumuru is also known as Slaves of Sumuru. Virgin in Flames is also known as The Fire Goddess. Return of Sumura was also published as Sand and Satin. Egyptian Nights is also known as Bimbashi Baruk of Egypt. Wulfheim was written as Michael Furey. Little Tich was ghostwritten as Little Tich.

If You Like Sax Rohmer Books, You’ll Love…

Sax Rohmer Synopsis: In Brood of the Witch Queen by Sax Rohmer, Robert Cairn is suspicious of the son of his father’s friend. The son’s name is Anthony Ferrara and he is murdered at the beginning of the book. The horrifying events start from there and most of them take place in an inner secret chamber inside a pyramid in Egypt. Summoned elements, burned corpses, women forced to prey upon their own husbands… Brood of the Witch Queen is one of the scariest novels ever written!

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sax Rohmer Books

Leave a Reply