Scott William Carter is an American author and Oregon resident. He writes the popular Garrison Gage mystery series which is set on the Oregon coast. Oregon is a big part of who Scott is as he was raised in the Willamette Valley, attended the University of Oregon and also works as a Digital Production & Publishing Specialist at Western Oregon University. It makes perfect sense that he would base his novels there.

In addition to the Garrison Gage books, he’s also written the Myron Vale Investigations series which is set in Portland, Oregon. This series has a bit more of a supernatural bent and is quite popular among readers.

Get notified when Scott William Carter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Garrison Gage Books

The Gray and Guilty Sea (As: Jack Nolte) (2010)Description / Buy at
A Plunder by Pilgrims (As: Jack Nolte) (2010)Description / Buy at
A Desperate Place for Dying (As: Jack Nolte) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Lovely Wicked Rain (As: Jack Nolte) (2014)Description / Buy at
A Shroud of Tattered Sails (2015)Description / Buy at
A Lighthouse for the Lonely Heart (2017)Description / Buy at
Bury the Dead in Driftwood (2019)Description / Buy at
A Deep and Deadly Undertow (2020)Description / Buy at
A Cold and Shallow Shore (2022)Description / Buy at
A Kiss of Sand and Sorrow (2024)Description / Buy at
A Plunder by Pilgrims is a prequel story.

Publication Order of Lost Lands of Rymadoon Books

Drawing a Dark Way (2011)Description / Buy at
A Tale of Two Giants (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Myron Vale Investigations Books

The Haunted Breadbox (2013)Description / Buy at
Ghost Detective (2013)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Who Said Goodbye (2015)Description / Buy at
The Ghost, the Girl, and the Gold (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

President Jock, Vice President Geek (2010)Description / Buy at
The Last Great Getaway of the Water Balloon Boys (2010)Description / Buy at
The Care and Feeding of Rubber Chickens (2012)Description / Buy at
Wooden Bones (2012)Description / Buy at
The Castle on the Hill at the Edge of the World (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Liberators (2009)Description / Buy at
Heart of Stone (2009)Description / Buy at
Tommy Top Hat (2010)Description / Buy at
The Red Scarf (2010)Description / Buy at
Lincoln and the Dragon (2010)Description / Buy at
The Dragon of the Dolomites (2011)Description / Buy at
The Android Who Became a Human Who Became an Android (2011)Description / Buy at
Last Stop on Dowling Street (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Dinosaur Diaries and Other Tales Across Space and Time (2010)Description / Buy at
Web Of Black Widows (2010)Description / Buy at
The Unity Worlds at War (2011)Description / Buy at
Tales of Twisted Time (2011)Description / Buy at
Strange Ghosts (2011)Description / Buy at
Strange Romance (2012)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Made No Mistakes (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fiction River Books

(with Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Jay Lake, Anthea Sharp, Annie Reed, Lisa Silverthorne, Chuck Heintzelman, Dean Wesley Smith, John Helfers, Nancy Holder, Seanan McGuire, Jeanne C. Stein, Rebecca Moesta, Mark Leslie, Lee Allred, Kelly Cairo, Sharon Joss, Thomas K. Carpenter, Lou J. Berger, Fiction River, Kerry L. Hughes)

How to Save the World (By: Dean Wesley Smith) (2013)Description / Buy at
Time Streams (By: Dean Wesley Smith,Lee Allred,Lou J. Berger) (2013)Description / Buy at
Valor (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith,Lee Allred) (2015)Description / Buy at
Last Stand (By: John Helfers) (2016)Description / Buy at
Tavern Tales (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith,Kerry L. Hughes) (2017)Description / Buy at
Wishes (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Dean Wesley Smith,Rebecca Moesta) (2018)Description / Buy at
Feel the Love (By: Mark Leslie) (2019)Description / Buy at
Time Travelers (With: Kristine Kathryn Rusch,Lisa Silverthorne,Chuck Heintzelman,Dean Wesley Smith,Kelly Cairo,Sharon Joss,Thomas K. Carpenter,Fiction River) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Cat Tales 2: Fantastic Feline Fiction(2010)Description / Buy at
Racing the Clock(2016)Description / Buy at
Library Cases(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Scott William Carter Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Garrison Gage series is The Gray and Guilty Sea which introduces us to the curmudgeonly title character. After the things that he went through, it makes sense why Gage gave up his life as a private detective. He just wants to live in Oregon, do his crosswords and be left alone. All that changes when the body of a young woman washes up on the beach and he’s forced back into the job as his conscience wouldn’t have it any other way.

Carter’s other popular series is Myron Vale Investigations and the first book is called Ghost Detective because that’s exactly what happens to Myron Vale in this one. He gets a bullet in the head and while it doesn’t kill him, it does change his life forever: he can see dead people. That sounds good on paper, but the only problem is that he can see all of them. Every person who has ever died and he can’t tell the difference between the living and the dead. He manages to make a living as a private investigator helping the living and the dead, but his life is flipped upside when a women needs help finding her husband.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Scott William Carter Books

One Response to “Order of Scott William Carter Books”

  1. Jeri K. Reif: 2 years ago

    The newest Scott William Carter book (#8) in the Garrison Gage series is “The Cold And Shallow Shore. Looking forward to more books in his Myron Vale series
    as well as the garrison Gage series.


Leave a Reply