Steven Axelrod is an American author best known for writing the Henry Kennis Mystery series. The book series begins with Nantucket Sawbuck.

Axelrod got his MFA in writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts. He has written in Hollywood in his past and still holds his WGA membership. Writing runs in the Axelrod family as Steven’s father is George Axelrod, a playwright and screenwriter known for The Manchurian Candidate. Steven makes his home in Nantucket Island, Massachusetts where he lives with his family.

Get notified when Steven Axelrod releases a new book at

Publication Order of Henry Kennis Mystery Books

Nantucket Sawbuck (2013)Description / Buy at
Nantucket Five-Spot (2015)Description / Buy at
Nantucket Grand (2016)Description / Buy at
Nantucket Red Tickets (2017)Description / Buy at
Nantucket Counterfeit (2018)Description / Buy at
Nantucket Penny (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Paranoid (2000)Description / Buy at
Just Like in the Movies (2004)Description / Buy at
Heat of the Moment (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Steven Axelrod Books, You’ll Love…

Nantucket Sawbuck is the first book in the Henry Kennis Mysteries. The book begins when a homeowner named Preston Lomax is killed. Everyone on the island could be a suspect as he owed money all over the island and had plans to not pay anyone back and disappear. Henry Kennis is new to town and sets out to investigate. Their investigation proves fruitful as they solve the case — or so they think. However, Kennis stop thinking that they may have missed something in their investigation. As he digs deeper into the story, he’ll find scandals and intrigue across the island. The truth, it turns out, is somewhere between bad blood and good neighbors.

The series continues with Nantucket Five-spot. It is the summer tourist season when a bomb threat has been made at the annual Boston Pops Concert. This could destroy the economy of the island as they rely on this time to make the money. The threat brings the Department of Homeland Security and with them, Henry’s lost love. The threat is traced to a local carpenter, but Henry believes he is being framed. He’ll need to trace the origins of the attacks back twenty years where he’ll uncover a revenge conspiracy.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steven Axelrod Books

Leave a Reply