Steven F Havill
Steven F. Havill is an American author of mystery and western novels. He is best known for his Posadas County Mysteries series, which is also known as the Undersheriff Bill Gastner series. Havill got his B.A. and M.A. from the University of New Mexico and teaches high school biology. He lives in New Mexico with his wife, Kathleen, who is also a writer (in addition to being an artist).

Steven F. Havill became a published author in 1981 with the western novel The Killer. He had his second novel published three years later, which was titled The Worst Enemy. Below is a list of Steven F. Havill’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Steven F. Havill releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bill Gastner Mystery Books

Heartshot (1991)Description / Buy at
Bitter Recoil (1992)Description / Buy at
Twice Buried (1994)Description / Buy at
Before She Dies (1996)Description / Buy at
Privileged to Kill (1997)Description / Buy at
Prolonged Exposure (1998)Description / Buy at
Out of Season (1999)Description / Buy at
Dead Weight (2000)Description / Buy at
Bag Limit (2001)Description / Buy at
One Perfect Shot (2011)Description / Buy at
Easy Errors (2017)Description / Buy at
Chronologically, read Easy Errors followed by One Perfect Shot then the rest of the series in publication order.Also read this series prior to the Posadas County Mysteries series.

Publication Order of Posadas County Mystery Books

Scavengers (2002)Description / Buy at
A Discount for Death (2003)Description / Buy at
Convenient Disposal (2004)Description / Buy at
Statute of Limitations (2006)Description / Buy at
Final Payment (2007)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Time Is Murder (2008)Description / Buy at
Red, Green, or Murder (2009)Description / Buy at
Double Prey (2010)Description / Buy at
NightZone (2013)Description / Buy at
Blood Sweep (2015)Description / Buy at
Come Dark (2016)Description / Buy at
Lies Come Easy (2018)Description / Buy at
Less Than a Moment (2020)Description / Buy at
No Accident (2022)Description / Buy at
Perfect Opportunity (2024)Description / Buy at
Chronologically, read Red, Green or Murder first as it is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Dr. Thomas Parks Books

Race for the Dying (2009)Description / Buy at
Comes a Time for Burning (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If You Like Steven F. Havill Books, You’ll Love…

Steven F. Havill Synopsis: Race for the Dying is the first Dr. Thomas Parks Mystery by Steven F. Havill. The year is 1890 and Dr. Thomas Parks has just graduated from Pennsylvania Medical School. He’s off to Puget Sound to practice trauma medicine, but shortly after stepping off the boat, he’s almost killed getting by crushed by a clumsy mule. Now he’s a patient instead of being a physician. Thomas then soon discovers that a friend of his father is running a scam, then his daughter falls in love with Thomas.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steven F. Havill Books

2 Responses to “Order of Steven F. Havill Books”

  1. hesss777: 8 years ago

    “Red, Green, or Murder” fits in chronologically between “Bag Limit” and “Scavengers”.


  2. Brian Forbes Colgate: 9 years ago

    Actually, the Bill Gastner Mystery Series and the Posadas County Mystery Series are separate, not AKA for one another.

    The Bill Gastner series covers Gastner’s time as Undersheriff, then Sheriff, while the Posadas County Series (starting with Scavengers) is after his retirement, when his one-time understudy Estella Reyes-Guzman has succeeded him as Undersheriff of Posadas County.


Leave a Reply