Margaret Coel is an American author of detective fiction and mystery novels. She writes two different series – the Wind River Reservation series featuring Father John O’Malley and Vicky Holden and her newer Catherine McLeod series.

Margaret wrote a couple of non-fiction books in the 80’s, but didn’t start as a novelist until The Eagle Catcher in 1995. Below is a list of Margaret Coel’s books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Margaret Coel releases a new book at

Publication Order of Wind River Reservation Books

The Eagle Catcher (1995)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Walker (1996)Description / Buy at
The Dream Stalker (1997)Description / Buy at
The Lost Bird (1999)Description / Buy at
The Story Teller (1999)Description / Buy at
The Spirit Woman (2000)Description / Buy at
The Thunder Keeper (2001)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Dancer (2002)Description / Buy at
Killing Raven (2003)Description / Buy at
Wife of Moon (2004)Description / Buy at
Eye of the Wolf (2005)Description / Buy at
The Drowning Man (2006)Description / Buy at
The Girl With Braided Hair (2007)Description / Buy at
The Silent Spirit (2009)Description / Buy at
The Spider's Web (2010)Description / Buy at
Buffalo Bill's Dead Now (2012)Description / Buy at
Killing Custer (2013)Description / Buy at
Night of the White Buffalo (2014)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Fell from the Sky (2015)Description / Buy at
Winter's Child (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Catherine McLeod Books

Blood Memory (2008)Description / Buy at
The Perfect Suspect (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Arapaho Ten Commandments Books

Chief Left Hand, Southern Arapaho (1981)Description / Buy at
Hole in the Wall (1998)Description / Buy at
Honor (1999)Description / Buy at
Stolen Smoke (2000)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Climbed to the Sky (2001)Description / Buy at
My Last Goodbye (2002)Description / Buy at
Bad Heart (2004)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Going to Cry (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Man Found Dead in Park (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Watching Eagles Soar: Stories from the Wind River and Beyond (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Goin' Railroading (1985)Description / Buy at
The Tivoli: Bavaria in the Rockies (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

How the West Was Read, Volume 2(1996)Description / Buy at
Women Before the Bench(2001)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 3(2002)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at
Wild Crimes(2004)Description / Buy at
Ghost Towns(2010)Description / Buy at

Note: The Sunken Sailor is a collaborative novel that also contains contributions by Simon Brett, Jan Burke, Dorothy Cannell, Deborah Crombie, Eileen Dreyer, Carolyn Hart, Edward Marston, Francine Mathews, Sharan Newman, Alexandra Ripley, Walter Satterthwait, Sarah Smith and Carolyn Wheat.

If You Like Margaret Coel Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Margaret Coel Books

Leave a Reply