Susan Cooper is an English fantasy author best know for The Dark is Rising series. She was the recipient of the lifetime Margaret A. Edwards Award from the American Library Association which recognized her for her contribution to writing for teens. In addition to her work as an author, she has also written screenplays that were produced for television.

Susan Cooper was born in Burnham, Buckingshamshire where she lived until she was 21. She attended university and earned her degree in English at Somerville College at the University of Oxford. She would work as a reporter after graduation until she published her first novel, Mandrake in 1964. After moving to the United States and starting a family, Susan became a full-time writer.

Get notified when Susan Cooper releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Boggart Books

The Boggart (1993)Description / Buy at
The Boggart and the Monster (1997)Description / Buy at
The Boggart Fights Back (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Dark Is Rising Books

Over Sea, Under Stone (1965)Description / Buy at
The Dark is Rising (1973)Description / Buy at
Greenwitch (1974)Description / Buy at
The Grey King (1975)Description / Buy at
Silver On The Tree (1977)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Picture Books

Jethro and the Jumbie (1979)Description / Buy at
The Silver Cow (1983)Description / Buy at
The Selkie Girl (1986)Description / Buy at
Matthew's Dragon (1991)Description / Buy at
Tam Lin (1991)Description / Buy at
Danny and the Kings (1993)Description / Buy at
Frog (2002)Description / Buy at
The Word Pirates (2019)Description / Buy at
The Shortest Day (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Dreams and Wishes (1996)Description / Buy at
The Magic Maker (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dramascripts Books

Werewolf (By: Adrian Flynn) (1642)Description / Buy at
The Valley of Fear (By: Adrian Flynn) (1915)Description / Buy at
All My Sons (By: Arthur Miller) (1947)Description / Buy at
Death of a Salesman (By: Arthur Miller) (1949)Description / Buy at
The Crucible (By: Arthur Miller) (1953)Description / Buy at
A View from the Bridge (By: Arthur Miller) (1955)Description / Buy at
Brother in the Land (By: Robert Swindells) (1984)Description / Buy at
Across the Barricades (By: Joan Lingard) (1990)Description / Buy at
A Question of Courage (By: Brian Keaney,Marjorie Darke) (1990)Description / Buy at
Paper Tigers (By: Steve Skidmore,Steve Barlow) (1991)Description / Buy at
The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler (By: Gene Kemp) (1991)Description / Buy at
Hot Cakes (By: Adrian Flynn) (1992)Description / Buy at
Burston School Strike (By: Roy Nevitt) (1992)Description / Buy at
A Tale of Two Cities (By: Steve Skidmore) (1996)Description / Buy at
Jane Eyre (By: Steve Skidmore,Steve Barlow) (1998)Description / Buy at
The Labyrinth: Play (By: David Calcutt) (2000)Description / Buy at
Working Parts (By: Nick Jones) (2000)Description / Buy at
Dracula (By: David Calcutt) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Canterbury Tales (By: Martin Riley) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Deamon Headmaster (By: Nick Stafford) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents (By: Terry Pratchett,Stephen Briggs) (2003)Description / Buy at
Johnny and the Dead (By: Terry Pratchett) (2003)Description / Buy at
Frankenstein (By: Philip Pullman) (2003)Description / Buy at
Lady Macbeth (By: David Calcutt) (2005)Description / Buy at
The Snake-Stone (By: Berlie Doherty) (2005)Description / Buy at
Doctor Faustus (By: Geraldine McCaughrean) (2006)Description / Buy at
Troy 24 (By: David Calcutt) (2007)Description / Buy at
The White Rose and the Swatiska (By: Adrian Flynn) (2007)Description / Buy at
Salem (By: David Calcutt) (2007)Description / Buy at
The Three Musketeers (By: Ken Ludwig) (2008)Description / Buy at
Cry, the Beloved Country (By: Roy Sargeant) (2008)Description / Buy at
Bog Child (By: Siobhan Dowd) (2008)Description / Buy at
Solace of the Road (By: Siobhan Dowd) (2009)Description / Buy at
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (By: Adrian Flynn) (2011)Description / Buy at
King of Shadows (2011)Description / Buy at
The Invisible Man (By: Adrian Flynn) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Garbage King (By: Oladipo Agboluaje) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Devil Walks (By: Anne Fine) (2013)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Carol (By: Conor McReynolds,Richard Kidd) (2013)Description / Buy at
Our Day Out (By: Willy Russell) (2014)Description / Buy at
Blood Brothers (By: Willy Russell) (2014)Description / Buy at
Flesh and Blood (By: Benjamin Hulme-Cross) (2014)Description / Buy at
Dodger (By: Stephen Briggs) (2014)Description / Buy at
The Terrible Fate of Humpty Dumpty (By: David Calcutt) (2014)Description / Buy at
Stone Cold (By: Robert Swindells) (2014)Description / Buy at
Beowulf (By: David Calcutt) (2014)Description / Buy at
Homer's Odyssey (By: David Calcutt) (2014)Description / Buy at
Arson About (By: Mark Wheeller) (2014)Description / Buy at
Treasure Island (By: David Calcutt) (2014)Description / Buy at
Unman Wittering and Zigo (By: Giles Cooper) (2014)Description / Buy at
The Diary of Anne Frank (By: Frances Goodrich,Albert Hackett) (2014)Description / Buy at
The Hound of the Baskervill (By: John O'Connor) (2014)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes and the Limehouse Horror (By: Philip Pullman) (2014)Description / Buy at
Tess of the D'Urbervilles (By: David Calcutt) (2016)Description / Buy at
Cowgirl (By: G.R. Gemin) (2016)Description / Buy at
The Brotherhood of Smoke (By: Adrian Flynn) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Travellers in Time: Past, Present, and to Come(1980)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Fourth Annual Collection(1991)Description / Buy at
Fourth Annual Collection(1991)Description / Buy at
When I Was Your Age: Original Stories about Growing Up(1996)Description / Buy at
The Writer's Guide to Fantasy Literature(2002)Description / Buy at
The Wand in the Word(2006)Description / Buy at
Acting Out(2008)Description / Buy at
Haunted(2011)Description / Buy at
The Exquisite Corpse Adventure(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susan Cooper Books, You’ll Love…

Over Sea, Under Stone is the first book in The Dark is Rising series. The book starts with three children who are on holiday in Cornwall. While looking around the house they are staying in, the kids find an ancient map in the attic. The map seems special and the kids know it. The kids are right when it turns out the map is the key to finding a grail which is a strong source of power that can be used to fight the evil forces known as the Dark. The kids set off on search of it themselves which leads into a world of danger.

A standalone book by Cooper is called Ghost Hawk. The book tells the story of a friendship between a young Native American named Little Hawk and a colonial New England settler named John. The two boys are friends, but they see the relationship between the settlers and natives deteriorating around them which puts the both of them in grave danger.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Cooper Books

Leave a Reply