Susan Gregg Gilmore is an American author best known for penning books like Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen, The Funeral Dress, and The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove.

Gilmore was born in the city of Nashville, Tennessee with parents who influenced her love of storytelling from a young age. Growing up, Susan spent a lot of time at her grandparents’ home outside of the city where they would fish and catch lightning bugs. She would go on to attend the University of Virginia and then earn her Master’s degree at the University of Texas.

Get notified when Susan Gregg Gilmore releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen (2008)Description / Buy at
The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove (2010)Description / Buy at
The Funeral Dress (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susan Gregg Gilmore Books, You’ll Love…

Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen takes place in the early 1970s in the small town of Riggold, Georgia. The town has just one traffic light and one Dairy Queen. Catherine Grace Cline is the daughter of Ringgold’s third-generation Baptist preacher and she is itching to escape this small town life. She heads to the Dairy Queen each Saturday to plot her escape with the help of a family friend. She finally reaches her goal and heads off to Atlanta, leaving all that she knows behind her. However, she is soon called home by tragedy and has her entire perspective of where she belongs change.

Gilmore is also the author of The Funeral Dress. In this book, Emmalee Bullard is new to town with a baby in tow. She isn’t alone for long though as an old seamstress who she worked with insists that she come live with her. Just as she is settling in, the old woman dies tragically. Now, Emmalee decides to honor the woman by making her burying dress. There are those who think an unmarried woman shouldn’t make the dress, but she is determined to do her best to honor her friend.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Gregg Gilmore Books

Leave a Reply