Susan Hill
Susan Hill is an English author of gothic fiction, fantasy novels, crime fiction and children’s books. She is the author of the Simon Serrailler series. She became interested in literature as well as theatre while attending Scarborough Convent School. She is the winner of the Somerset Maugham Award (for I’m the King of the Castle in 1971), the Whitbread Novel Award (for The Bird of Night in 1972) and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (for The Albatross, also in 1972), among other awards.

She wrote her first novel, The Enclosure, while still in university. It was published in 1961. The novel was criticized in The Daily Mail, which felt its sexual content was inappropriate for a “schoolgirl.” Below is a list of Susan Hill’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Susan Hill releases a new book at

Publication Order of Simon Serrailler Books

The Various Haunts of Men (2004)Description / Buy at
The Pure in Heart (2005)Description / Buy at
The Risk of Darkness (2006)Description / Buy at
The Vows of Silence (2006)Description / Buy at
The Shadows in the Street (2010)Description / Buy at
The Betrayal of Trust (2011)Description / Buy at
A Question of Identity (2012)Description / Buy at
A Breach of Security (2014)Description / Buy at
The Soul of Discretion (2014)Description / Buy at
Hero (2016)Description / Buy at
Old Haunts (2018)Description / Buy at
The Comforts of Home (2018)Description / Buy at
Revenge (2019)Description / Buy at
The Benefit of Hindsight (2020)Description / Buy at
A Change of Circumstance (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Woman in Black Books

(with Martyn Waites)

The Woman in Black: A Ghost Story (1983)Description / Buy at
The Woman in Black: Angel of Death (By: Martyn Waites) (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Enclosure (1961)Description / Buy at
Do Me a Favour (1963)Description / Buy at
Gentleman and Ladies (1968)Description / Buy at
A Change for the Better (1969)Description / Buy at
Strange Meeting (1971)Description / Buy at
The Bird of Night (1973)Description / Buy at
In the Springtime of the Year (1975)Description / Buy at
Air and Angels (1991)Description / Buy at
The Mist in the Mirror (1992)Description / Buy at
Mrs. deWinter (1993)Description / Buy at
The Service of Clouds (1998)Description / Buy at
The Man in the Picture (2007)Description / Buy at
The Beacon (2008)Description / Buy at
The Battle for Gullywith (2009)Description / Buy at
The Small Hand (2010)Description / Buy at
A Kind Man (2011)Description / Buy at
Dolly Signed (2012)Description / Buy at
From the Heart (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Albatross and Other Stories (1971)Description / Buy at
A Bit of Singing and Dancing and Other Stories (1973)Description / Buy at
The Cold Country, And Other Plays For Radio (1975)Description / Buy at
Stories from Codling Village (1990)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Collection (1994)Description / Buy at
Listening to the Orchestra (1996)Description / Buy at
The Boy Who Taught the Beekeeper to Read and Other Stories (2003)Description / Buy at
Farthing House and Other Stories (2006)Description / Buy at
The Woman in Black and Other Ghost Stories (2015)Description / Buy at
The Travelling Bag and Other Ghostly Stories (2016)Description / Buy at
Walter & Florence and Other Stories (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

I'm The King Of The Castle (1970)Description / Buy at
The Glass Angels (1991)Description / Buy at
Friends Next Door (1992)Description / Buy at
A Very Special Birthday (1992)Description / Buy at
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

One Night at a Time / Go Away Bad Dreams (1985)Description / Buy at
Mother's Magic (1988)Description / Buy at
Can It Be True? (1988)Description / Buy at
Suzy's Shoes (1989)Description / Buy at
I Won't Go There Again (1990)Description / Buy at
Septimus Honeydew (1990)Description / Buy at
Pirate Poll (1991)Description / Buy at
Beware Beware (1993)Description / Buy at
King of Kings (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Magic Apple Tree (1982)Description / Buy at
Through the Kitchen Window (1984)Description / Buy at
Through the Garden Gate (1986)Description / Buy at
The Lighting of the Lamps (1987)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare Country (1987)Description / Buy at
Lanterns Across the Snow (1987)Description / Buy at
The Spirit of the Cotswolds (1988)Description / Buy at
Family (1989)Description / Buy at
The Spirit of Britain (1995)Description / Buy at
Reflections from a Garden (1997)Description / Buy at
Howards End is on the Landing (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best for Winter(1979)Description / Buy at
New Stories 5: An Arts Council Anthology(1980)Description / Buy at
People(1983)Description / Buy at
The Parchment Moon(1990)Description / Buy at
The Random House Book of Ghost Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
The Walker Book of Ghost Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
The Penguin Book of Modern Women's Short Stories(1992)Description / Buy at
Funny Stories(1995)Description / Buy at
Contemporary Women's Short Stories(1995)Description / Buy at
The Second Penguin Book of Modern Women's Short Stories(1997)Description / Buy at
A Distant Cry(2002)Description / Buy at
The Library Book(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: The picture book One Night at a Time was also published using the title Go Away Bad Dreams. New Stories 5 was co-edited with Isabel Quigly.

If You Like Susan Hill Books, You’ll Love…

Susan Hill Synopses: A Bit of Singing and Dancing and Other Stories by Susan Hill contains a series of stories about an individual’s struggle for hope. Each story is a fresh look at the sinister side of life and death – who will survive and who will be destroyed?

The Christmas Collection by Susan Hill is a collection of four stories and one poem – all holiday-themed. Illustrated by John Lawrence.

The Boy Who Taught the Beekeeper to Read and Other Stories is a short story collection. The title story involves an illiterate beekeeper who only knows the tools of his trade and a boy who can read and write. Each one teaches the other what they know.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Hill Books

One Response to “Order of Susan Hill Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 6 years ago

    I absolutely love the Simon Serailler series of crime novels….it is an unusual series. The main character is a police detective, but the books are just as much about his extended family as they are about the crimes. Yet this is NOT a “cozy” series. It is unique, in my opinion.


Leave a Reply