Susan Richards Shreve is an American author best known for writing the books More News Tomorrow, Under Watsons’ Porch, and The Flunking of Joshua T. Bates. She has authored numerous novels and also has written extensively in the children’s books genre.

Shreve founded the Master of Fine Arts program at George Mason University where she has also worked as a professor. She is also the co-founder of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation where she served for thirty years including a run as the Chairman. PEN/Faulkner began as an award, but went on to develop a Writers in Schools Program in which more than 200 writers discuss their books in DC schools.

Get notified when Susan Richards Shreve releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joshua T. Bates Books

The Flunking of Joshua T. Bates (1984)Description / Buy at
Joshua T. Bates Takes Charge (1993)Description / Buy at
Joshua T. Bates in Trouble Again (1997)Description / Buy at
Goodbye, Amanda the Good (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lucy Forever Books

Lucy Forever & Miss Rosetree, Shrinks (1988)Description / Buy at
Lucy Forever, Miss Rosetree, and the Stolen Baby (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Fortunate Madness (1974)Description / Buy at
A Woman Like That (1977)Description / Buy at
Children of Power (1979)Description / Buy at
Miracle Play (1982)Description / Buy at
Queen of Hearts (1986)Description / Buy at
Dreaming Of Heroes (1986)Description / Buy at
A Country of Strangers (1989)Description / Buy at
Daughters of the New World (1992)Description / Buy at
The Train Home (1993)Description / Buy at
The Visiting Physician (1996)Description / Buy at
Plum & Jaggers (2000)Description / Buy at
A Student of Living Things (2006)Description / Buy at
You Are the Love of My Life (2012)Description / Buy at
More News Tomorrow (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Nightmares of Geranium Street (1977)Description / Buy at
Family Secrets (1979)Description / Buy at
The Masquerade (1980)Description / Buy at
Loveletters (1981)Description / Buy at
The Revolution of Mary Leary (1982)Description / Buy at
The Bad Dreams of a Good Girl (1982)Description / Buy at
How I Saved the World on Purpose (1985)Description / Buy at
Lily and the Runaway Baby (1987)Description / Buy at
The Gift of the Girl Who Couldn't Hear (1991)Description / Buy at
Wait for Me (1992)Description / Buy at
Amy Dunn Quits School (1993)Description / Buy at
Zoe and Columbo (1995)Description / Buy at
The Formerly Great Alexander Family (1995)Description / Buy at
Warts (1996)Description / Buy at
The Goalie (1996)Description / Buy at
Jonah the Whale (1998)Description / Buy at
Misc Plum and Jaggers ARC (2001)Description / Buy at
Ghost Cats (2001)Description / Buy at
Blister (2001)Description / Buy at
Trout and Me (2002)Description / Buy at
Under the Watsons' Porch (2004)Description / Buy at
Kiss Me Tomorrow (2006)Description / Buy at
The Lovely Shoes (2011)Description / Buy at
The Search for Baby Ruby (2015)Description / Buy at
Jonah (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Skin Deep (With: Marita Golden) (1995)Description / Buy at
Outside The Law (1997)Description / Buy at
How We Want to Live (1998)Description / Buy at
Tales Out of School (2001)Description / Buy at
Dream Me Home Safely (2003)Description / Buy at
Warm Springs (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The World Is Round Just Like An Orange:Many Ways Of Learning(1995)Description / Buy at
It's Fine to Be Nine(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Susan Richards Shreve Books, You’ll Love…

Under the Watsons’ Porch is the story of a twelve-year-old girl named Ellie who is bored. She wishes that something interesting would happen and her wish is granted with a 14-year-old boy named Tommy moves in next door. Her summer gets interesting when Tommy suggests they start a camp for the kids in the neighborhood under the Watsons’ porch. Ellie agrees and does much of what Tommy says as she is smitten. Tommy gives her a diamond necklace that he claims he bought, but its not long after that Ellie’s parents bar her for seeing him.

Shreve is also the author of the novel, More News Tomorrow. The story begins on the morning of Georgianna’ seventieth birthday when she receives a letter calling her back to Missing Lake, Wisconsin. She has bad memories here as this is where her mother was murdered and her father arrested for the crime. She decides to head back to unearth the truth of what happened all those years ago. She brings her family along and they go on a canoe trip up the swollen Bone River, heading to the campsite of her haunted memories.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Richards Shreve Books

Leave a Reply