Terry Harknett wrote over two hundred books during his writing career. The author mainly wrote crime and western pulp novels.

Of the many books that Harknett wrote during his career, he also wrote under multiple pen names including Jane Harman, Charles R. Pike, William Pine, James Russell, David Ford, Thomas Stone, Frank Chandler, and George G. Gilman. He is the author of the Steve Wayne series, the Crown series, and the Fortune series under the name of Thomas Stone.

Publication Order of Steve Wayne Books

The Scratch on the Surface (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Little Rich Girl (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Invitation to a Funeral (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Two-Way Frame (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of an aunt (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Softcover Kill (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Upmarket Affair (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Crown Books

The Sweet And Sour Kill (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Macao Mayhem (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bamboo Shoot-Out (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Fortune Books

(as Thomas Stone)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Once a Copper (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Protectors (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
W. I. T. C. H (As: Jane Harman) (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Promotion Tour (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Squeeze play (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hero (With: Peter Haining) (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Balearic Islands (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Caribbean (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Apache Books

(as William M. James)

If You Like Terry Harknett Books, You’ll Love…

Macao Mayhem is a book in the Crown series. The story features a fast-paced plot and realistic characters. Senior Superintendent John Crown of the Royal Hong Kong Police Force and his partner Chang Po are the leads in this book. The story features an evil mastermind who is putting together a plot where a group of criminals from Hong Kong are going to kidnap American officials and hold them for a ransom of five million dollars. The book starts out all action and then settles down into more of a proper mystery.

Another good book by Harknett is called Squeeze Play. The story sees a private detective hired by an older woman in order to find her niece who has gone missing. The missing girl is named Avis and she left her home in Seattle to go find her sister in San Francisco. She found her sister in San Francisco, but unfortunately she also god hooked on heroin and caught up in a case of blackmail. There are many factors at play here with organized crime, dirty politicians, beautiful women with dark pasts, and tough cops. This is a classic detective novel that keeps things simple and straight forward. It’s an easy read as well at only 120 pages.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Terry Harknett Books

Leave a Reply