Thomas King is a short story writer, scriptwriter, photographer, and an award-winning novelist. He is best knonw for writing novels such as Medicine River, Green Grass, and Running Water.

King has also written numerous children’s books as well as non-fiction books. In addition to that, King wrote and starred in the popular CBC radio series, The Dead Dog Café. In 2003, King received the Lifetime Achievement Award and was made a member of the Order of Canada the following year. Thomas also taught Native literature and history and creative writing at the University of Lethbridge, the University of Minnesota, and the University of Guelph, but he is now retired and living in Guelph, Ontario.

Get notified when Thomas King releases a new book at

Publication Order of DreadfulWater Books

Publication Order of Minerva Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Medicine River (1990)Description / Buy at
Green Grass, Running Water (1993)Description / Buy at
Truth and Bright Water (1999)Description / Buy at
The Back of the Turtle (2014)Description / Buy at
Indians on Vacation (2020)Description / Buy at
Sufferance (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

One Good Story, That One (1993)Description / Buy at
A Short History of Indians in Canada (2005)Description / Buy at
77 Fragments of a Familiar Ruin (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Borders (With: Natasha Donovan) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Coyote Sings to the Moon (1999)Description / Buy at
A Coyote Columbus Story (2002)Description / Buy at
Coyote's New Suit (2004)Description / Buy at
A Coyote Solstice Tale (2009)Description / Buy at
Coyote Tales (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Truth About Stories (2003)Description / Buy at
The Inconvenient Indian (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of American Indian Literature and Critical Studies Books

All My Relations (1988)Description / Buy at
Narrative Chance (By: Gerald Vizenor) (1989)Description / Buy at
Other destinies (By: Louis Owens) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Sharpest Sight (By: Louis Owens) (1992)Description / Buy at
Dead Voices (By: Gerald Vizenor) (1992)Description / Buy at
Firesticks of Stories (By: Diane Glancy) (1993)Description / Buy at
Summer in the Spring (By: Gerald Vizenor) (1993)Description / Buy at
Faces in the Moon (By: Betty Louise Bell) (1994)Description / Buy at
Grand Avenue (By: Greg Sarris) (1994)Description / Buy at
Bone Game (By: Louis Owens) (1994)Description / Buy at
The Massacre at Sand Creek (By: Bruce Cutler) (1995)Description / Buy at
Only Approved Indians (By: Jack D. Forbes) (1995)Description / Buy at
Wolfsong (By: Louis Owens) (1995)Description / Buy at
Eye Killers (By: A. A. Carr) (1995)Description / Buy at
Mediation in Contemporary Native American Fiction (By: James Ruppert) (1995)Description / Buy at
Nightland (By: Louis Owens) (1996)Description / Buy at
On Native Ground (By: Jim Barnes) (1997)Description / Buy at
Kiss of the Fur Queen (By: Tomson Highway) (1998)Description / Buy at
Mixedblood Messages (By: Louis Owens) (1998)Description / Buy at
Dark River (By: Louis Owens) (1999)Description / Buy at
Chancers (By: Gerald Vizenor) (2000)Description / Buy at
Briefcase Warriors (By: E. Donald Two-Rivers) (2001)Description / Buy at
I Hear the Train (By: Louis Owens) (2001)Description / Buy at
Other Words (By: Jace Weaver) (2001)Description / Buy at
The Mask Maker (By: Diane Glancy) (2002)Description / Buy at
American Gypsy (By: Diane Glancy) (2002)Description / Buy at
Where the Pavement Ends (By: William S. Yellow Robe Jr.) (2003)Description / Buy at
Field of Honor (By: D.L. Birchfield) (2004)Description / Buy at
Silko (By: Brewster E. Fitz) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Trickster of Liberty (By: Gerald Vizenor) (2005)Description / Buy at
A Pipe for February (By: Martin Scorsese,Charles H. Red Corn) (2005)Description / Buy at
The Marriage of Saints (By: Dawn Karima Pettigrew) (2006)Description / Buy at
Muting White Noise (By: James H. Cox) (2006)Description / Buy at
The Singing Bird (By: John Milton Oskison) (2007)Description / Buy at
The Cherokee Syllabary (By: Ellen Cushman) (2011)Description / Buy at
Twenty Thousand Mornings (By: Susan Kalter,John Joseph Mathews) (2012)Description / Buy at
Literacy and Intellectual Life in the Cherokee Nation, 1820–1906 (By: James W. Parins) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Native American Renaissance (By: Alan R. Velie) (2013)Description / Buy at
Scalping Columbus and Other Damn Indian Stories (By: Adam Fortunate Eagle) (2014)Description / Buy at
Progressive Traditions (By: Joshua B. Nelson) (2014)Description / Buy at
Creative Alliances (By: Molly S. McGlennen) (2014)Description / Buy at
Old Three Toes and Other Tales of Survival and Extinction (By: Susan Kalter,John Joseph Mathews) (2015)Description / Buy at
Wil Usdi: Novella (By: Robert J. Conley,Luther Wilson) (2015)Description / Buy at
Imagining Sovereignty (By: David J. Carlson) (2016)Description / Buy at
Chenoo (By: Joseph Bruchac) (2016)Description / Buy at
Red Bird, Red Power (By: Tadeusz Lewandowski) (2016)Description / Buy at
John Joseph Mathews (By: Michael Snyder) (2017)Description / Buy at
Back to the Blanket (By: Kimberly G. Wieser) (2017)Description / Buy at
Plastic Indian (By: Robert J. Conley,Evelyn L. Conley,Geary Hobson) (2018)Description / Buy at
Padoskoks (By: Joseph Bruchac) (2021)Description / Buy at
Watermelon Nights (By: Greg Sarris) (2021)Description / Buy at
Native Removal Writing (By: Sabine N. Meyer) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Thomas King Books, You’ll Love…

Medicine River is one of Thomas King’s best known novels. The story sees Will returning to the town of Medicine River for his mother’s funeral. He ends up getting much more than that though when he meets Harlen Bigbear who tries to sell Will on the idea of returning to Medicine River as the town’s only Native photographer, and he succeeds. Through Will we get to know this small Albertan town and the people who live there.

King began the Minerva Chronicles series in 2020 with the first book being In surrection. The book introduces us to Markus Crowe-Valdez as he arrives as a prisoner in a commercially owned gulag on a far away world. It is here that Markus takes part in exoplanet colonization and witnesses just how harsh the conditions are. Markus also discovers a dark secret about this new colony which finds him caught in the middle of a brutal rivalry between terraforming moguls. If Markus wants to survive alongside his fellow prisoners, he must lead them in rebellion against the moguls and join with the sophisticated alien race who eyes humankind with caution and suspicion.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thomas King Books

Leave a Reply