William Golding
William Golding (1911-1993) was a British novelist, best known for his classic Lord of the Flies. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1983. In addition to his novels, Golding also wrote plays, essays, reviews, short stories, poems and a travel book about Egypt. He challenged himself to diversify the subject matter of his novels. Golding died of a heart attack in Perranarworthal, Cornwall, England. He was survived by his wife and their two children, David and Judith.

William Golding’s first novel was Lord of the Flies, published in 1954. Below is a list of William Golding’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of To the Ends of the Earth Books

Rites of Passage (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Close Quarters (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fire Down Below (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lord of the Flies (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Inheritors (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pincher Martin / The Two Deaths of Christopher Martin (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Free Fall (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Spire (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pyramid (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Darkness Visible (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Paper Men (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Double Tongue (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Sometime, Never (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Scorpion God (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Hot Gates and Other Occasional Pieces (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Moving Target (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Egyptian Journal (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Plays

Brass Butterfly (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Penguin Book of Modern British Short Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Friendship(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Pincher Martin was also published as The Two Deaths of Christopher Martin.

If You Like William Golding Books, You’ll Love…

William Golding Synopses: Lord of the Flies is a standalone title by William Golding. A plane crashes on a desert island and the only survivors, a group of schoolboys, assemble on the beach and wait to be rescued. By day they inhabit a land of bright fantastic birds and dark blue seas, but at night their dreams are haunted by the image of a terrifying beast. As the boys’ delicate sense of order fades, so their childish dreams are transformed into something more primitive, and their behaviour starts to take on a murderous, savage significance.

In The Inheritors by William Golding, eight Neanderthals encounter another race of beings like themselves, yet strangely different. This new race, Homo sapiens, fascinating in their skills and sophistication, terrifying in their cruelty, sense of guilt, and incipient corruption, spell doom for the more gentle folk whose world they will inherit.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William Golding Books

Leave a Reply