William X. Kienzle (1928-2001) was an American author of crime fiction/mystery novels. He wrote the Father Koesler series. From Detroit, Kienzle was ordained as a priest in 1954, and spent 20 years in the priesthood. He left due to the Catholic church’s refusal to allow divorcees to re-marry. After leaving the church, he worked as a magazine editor in Minneapolis, and as the director of the Center for Contemplative Studies at the University of Dallas.

William X. Kienzle made his debut as a published author in 1978 with the novel The Rosary Murders. His final novel was The Gathering in 2002. All 24 of his books were part of the Father Koesler series. Below is a list of William X. Kienzle’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Father Koesler Books

The Rosary Murders (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Wears a Red Hat (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mind Over Murder (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Assault with Intent (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of Death (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kill and Tell (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sudden Death (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deathbed (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deadline for a Critic (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Marked For Murder (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Eminence (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Masquerade (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Chameleon (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Body Count (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Wrong (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bishop as Pawn (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Call No Man Father (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Requiem for Moses (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Man Who Loved God (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Greatest Evil (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Greater Love (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Till Death (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sacrifice (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Gathering (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like William X. Kienzle Books, You’ll Love…

William X. Kienzle Synopses: The Rosary Murders by William X. Kienzle is the first book in the Father Koesler series. He targets priests and nuns. He has a calling card – a plain black rosary entwined between the fingers of each victim. The police don’t know where to start, but Father Koesler sees a pattern – a consuming religious obsession that can bring one to committing multiple murders. And to an unexpected and terrifying encounter inside the Father’s own confessional.

Death Wears a Red Hat is the second book in William X. Kienzle’s Father Koesler series. Father Bob Koesler is called upon when the bloodless, decapitated heads of Detroit’s underworld leaders are found on the shoulders of headless statues in Detroit churches.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of William X. Kienzle Books

Leave a Reply