Charlotte MacLeod
Charlotte MacLeod (1922-2005) was a Canadian-born American author of mystery novels. She is best known for her Professor Peter Shandy series and also wrote the Sarah Kelling & Max Bittersohn series as well as the Madoc Rhys and Grub-And-Stakers series as Alisa Craig. Charlotte MacLeod was born in New Brunswick and her family moved to the United States shortly after. She was educated at the Art Institute of Boston and then worked as a copywriter (while beginning her fiction career). Her writing is very light and consists of likable and eccentric characters. She passed away in 2005 in a nursing home from Alzheimer’s disease.

Charlotte MacLeod’s career began in 1964 with the novel Mystery of the White Knight. Her final novel was the Sarah Kelling and Max Bittersohn novel The Balloon Man, published in 1998. Her final published work was the short story collection It Was an Awful Shame and Other Stories, which was largely a re-issue of her earlier collection Grab Bag with additional content. Below is a list of Charlotte MacLeod’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Professor Peter Shandy Books

Rest You Merry (1978)Description / Buy at
The Luck Runs Out (1979)Description / Buy at
Wrack and Rune (1982)Description / Buy at
Something The Cat Dragged In (1983)Description / Buy at
The Curse of the Giant Hogweed (1985)Description / Buy at
The Corpse in Oozak's Pond (1987)Description / Buy at
Vane Pursuit (1989)Description / Buy at
An Owl Too Many (1991)Description / Buy at
Something in the Water (1994)Description / Buy at
Exit the Milkman (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sarah Kelling & Max Bittersohn Mysteries Books

The Family Vault (1979)Description / Buy at
The Withdrawing Room (1980)Description / Buy at
The Palace Guard (1981)Description / Buy at
The Bilbao Looking Glass (1983)Description / Buy at
The Convivial Codfish (1984)Description / Buy at
The Plain Old Man (1985)Description / Buy at
The Recycled Citizen (1987)Description / Buy at
The Silver Ghost (1987)Description / Buy at
The Gladstone Bag (1990)Description / Buy at
The Resurrection Man (1992)Description / Buy at
The Odd Job (1995)Description / Buy at
The Balloon Man (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madoc Rhys Books

(as Alisa Craig)

A Pint of Murder (1980)Description / Buy at
Murder Goes Mumming (1981)Description / Buy at
A Dismal Thing to Do (1986)Description / Buy at
Trouble in the Brasses (1989)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Rite (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Grub-And-Stakers Books

(as Alisa Craig)

The Grub-And-Stakers Move a Mountain (1981)Description / Buy at
The Grub-and-Stakers Quilt a Bee (1985)Description / Buy at
The Grub-And-Stakers Pinch a Poke (1988)Description / Buy at
The Grub-and-Stakers Spin a Yarn (1990)Description / Buy at
The Grub-And-Stakers House a Haunt (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mystery of the White Knight (1964)Description / Buy at
Next Door to Danger (1965)Description / Buy at
The Fat Lady's Ghost (1968)Description / Buy at
Mouse's Vineyard (1968)Description / Buy at
Brass pounder (1971)Description / Buy at
Ask Me No Questions (1971)Description / Buy at
King Devil (1978)Description / Buy at
We Dare Not Go A-Hunting (1980)Description / Buy at
Cirak's Daughter (1982)Description / Buy at
The Terrible Tide (As: Alisa Craig) (1983)Description / Buy at
Maid of Honor (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Cozy For Christmas (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Grab Bag (1987)Description / Buy at
It Was an Awful Shame and Other Stories (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Astrology For Skeptics (1972)Description / Buy at
Had She but Known (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mistletoe Mysteries(1989)Description / Buy at
Christmas Stalkings(1991)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 1(1992)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Mado Rhys and Grub-and-Stakers series were written as Alisa Craig. Mistletoe Mysteries was co-edited with Brian M. Thomsen.

If You Like Charlotte MacLeod Books, You’ll Love…

Charlotte MacLeod Synopsis: Had She But Known is a biography of Mary Robets Rinehart, the first American bestselling suspense author, by Charlotte MacLeod. The book covers her work as a WWI trench reporter and her interest in Native American culture.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Charlotte MacLeod Books

One Response to “Order of Charlotte MacLeod Books”

  1. Tony Knight: 11 years ago

    does anyone know where I can buy the movie of Charlotte MacLeod’s “Rest You Merry” please


Leave a Reply