Barbara Holloway is a lead character in a series of mystery novels by American author Kate Wilhelm. Holloway works as an attorney in Eugene, Oregon. She has been described as intelligent, courageous and compassionate. Her father is also a lawyer (now semi-retired) who helps out his daughter along the way. The series mixes detective fiction with the drama of the courtroom.

The Barbara Holloway series began in 1991 with Death Qualified: A Mystery of Chaos. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Kate Wilhelm’s Barbara Holloway books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Barbara Holloway Books

Death Qualified(1991)Description / Buy at
The Best Defense(1994)Description / Buy at
Malice Prepense / For the Defense(1996)Description / Buy at
Defense for the Devil(1999)Description / Buy at
No Defense(2000)Description / Buy at
Desperate Measures(2001)Description / Buy at
Clear and Convincing Proof(2003)Description / Buy at
The Unbidden Truth(2004)Description / Buy at
Sleight of Hand(2006)Description / Buy at
A Wrongful Death(2007)Description / Buy at
Cold Case(2008)Description / Buy at
Heaven is High(2011)Description / Buy at
By Stone By Blade By Fire(2012)Description / Buy at
Mirror, Mirror(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Barbara Holloway Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Barbara Holloway Books

3 Responses to “Order of Barbara Holloway Books”

  1. Kate: 8 years ago

    What about “Heaven is High” from 2011? It clearly follows “Death Qualified” chronologically, in spite of the publication date.


  2. Barbara Delaney: 9 years ago

    What about “The Unbidden Truth” from 2004?

    “Oregon attorney Barbara Holloway has an unusual new client. Louise Braniff, member of a group that anonymously supports worthy women’s causes, asks her to represent gifted pianist Carol Fredricks, who is accused of murdering the manager of the bar that employed her to entertain. Barbara heard her play and was impressed, but, as she interviews her client, she discovers major problems. When she was eight years old, Carol and her parents were involved in a serious automobile accident. Her parents died, and she woke up in a hospital with no memory of anything that happened. Barbara’s investigation of the murder uncovers a web of deceit and greed that convinces her that someone is framing her innocent client.”


    • Brandon: 9 years ago

      We weren’t missing the book; I had copy/pasted the wrong list over (oops!). Fixed that problem now. And apologies for the delay in my response!


Leave a Reply