The Cadfael Chronicles is a series of historical fiction/mystery novels by English author Ellis Peters (Edith Pargeter). The series follows Brother Cadfael, a monk who joined the cloister in his 40s. The series is set between the years 1135 and 1150 during The Anarchy. The series has been adapted to radio by BBC Radio and television by ITV.

The Brother Cadfael series began in 1977 with A Morbid Taste for Bones. The series came to a conclusion in 1994 with Brother Cadfael’s Penance, which was always intended to be the conclusion of the series, although Pargeter passed away shortly after its publication. Below is a list of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Chronicles of Brother Cadfael Books

A Morbid Taste for Bones(1977)Description / Buy at
One Corpse Too Many(1979)Description / Buy at
Monk's Hood(1980)Description / Buy at
Saint Peter's Fair(1981)Description / Buy at
The Leper Of St. Giles(1981)Description / Buy at
The Virgin in the Ice(1982)Description / Buy at
The Sanctuary Sparrow(1983)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Novice(1983)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Ransom(1984)Description / Buy at
The Pilgrim of Hate(1984)Description / Buy at
An Excellent Mystery(1985)Description / Buy at
The Raven in the Foregate(1986)Description / Buy at
The Rose Rent(1986)Description / Buy at
The Hermit of Eyton Forest(1987)Description / Buy at
The Confession of Brother Haluin(1988)Description / Buy at
A Rare Benedictine(1988)Description / Buy at
The Heretic's Apprentice(1989)Description / Buy at
The Potter's Field(1989)Description / Buy at
The Summer of the Danes(1991)Description / Buy at
The Holy Thief(1992)Description / Buy at
Eye Witness(1993)Description / Buy at
The Price of Light(1993)Description / Buy at
Brother Cadfael's Penance(1994)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Brother Cadfael Books

One Response to “Order of Brother Cadfael Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 5 years ago

    A wonderful and believable mystery series set in 12th century England, in a monastery. NOT a series which pushes “religion” down your throat, but one in which, realistically, it is a part of the fabric of life.

    Brother Cadfael, a former Crusader, is a great monk and herbalist.


Leave a Reply