Casca by Barry Sadler
Casca: The Eternal Mercenary is a series of military adventure novels created by American novelist Barry Sadler. The titular character, Casca Rufio Longinus, is the Roman soldier who drove a spear into Jesus Christ. Because of this, he has been forced to roam the Earth as a mercenary until the Second Coming. Throughout the series, he also meets several historical figures like Adolf Hitler, Attila the Hun, Blackbeard, Genghis Khan, Marco Polo, Robert E. Lee, William the Conqueror, George Washington, Mohammed and many others.

Barry Sadler began his Casca series in 1979 with the novel The Eternal Mercenary. Although most of his novels in the series were likely ghostwritten, the final novel credited to him was The Mongol in 1990. The next two novels were written by Paul Dengelegi. The latest revival of the series has been written by Tony Roberts. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of the Casca: The Eternal Mercenary books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Casca Books

(By: Barry Sadler, Tony Roberts, Michael B. Goodwin)

The Eternal Mercenary(1979)Description / Buy at
God of Death(1979)Description / Buy at
The War Lord(1980)Description / Buy at
Panzer Soldier(1980)Description / Buy at
The Barbarian(1981)Description / Buy at
The Persian(1982)Description / Buy at
The Damned(1982)Description / Buy at
Soldier of Fortune(1983)Description / Buy at
The Sentinel(1983)Description / Buy at
The Conquistador(1984)Description / Buy at
The Legionnaire(1984)Description / Buy at
The African Mercenary(1984)Description / Buy at
The Assassin(1985)Description / Buy at
The Phoenix(1985)Description / Buy at
The Pirate(1985)Description / Buy at
Desert Mercenary(1986)Description / Buy at
The Warrior(1987)Description / Buy at
The Cursed(1987)Description / Buy at
The Samurai(1988)Description / Buy at
Soldier of Gideon(1988)Description / Buy at
The Trench Soldier(1989)Description / Buy at
The Mongol(1990)Description / Buy at
The Liberator(1999)Description / Buy at
The Defiant(2001)Description / Buy at
Halls of Montezuma(2006)Description / Buy at
Johnny Reb(2007)Description / Buy at
The Confederate(2008)Description / Buy at
The Avenger(2008)Description / Buy at
Immortal Dragon(2008)Description / Buy at
Napoleon's Soldier(2009)Description / Buy at
The Conqueror(2009)Description / Buy at
The Anzac(2010)Description / Buy at
The Outlaw(2010)Description / Buy at
Devil's Horseman(2010)Description / Buy at
The Minuteman(2011)Description / Buy at
Roman Mercenary(2012)Description / Buy at
The Continental(2012)Description / Buy at
Sword Of The Brotherhood(2014)Description / Buy at
The Crusader(2014)Description / Buy at
Blitzkrieg(2014)Description / Buy at
The Longbowman(2014)Description / Buy at
Barbarossa(2015)Description / Buy at
Scourge Of Asia(2015)Description / Buy at
Balkan Mercenary(2016)Description / Buy at
Emperor's Mercenary(2016)Description / Buy at
The Cavalryman(2017)Description / Buy at
The Viking(2017)Description / Buy at
The Austrian(2018)Description / Buy at
The Lombard(2018)Description / Buy at
The Commissar(2019)Description / Buy at
The Saracen(2019)Description / Buy at
The Rough Rider(2020)Description / Buy at
The Last Defender(2020)Description / Buy at
The Killer(2021)Description / Buy at
The Moor(2021)Description / Buy at
The Iron Duke's Man(2022)Description / Buy at
The Red Rose(2022)Description / Buy at
The Hunter(2023)Description / Buy at
The Explorer(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: The series is written by Barry Sadler until The Mongol. The next two books (The Liberator & The Defiant) were written by Paul Dengelegi. From there on, most of the rest of the novels have been written by Tony Roberts, except for Immortal Dragon and The Outlaw (by Michael B. Goodwin). Both of the Michael B. Goodwin novels have been proven to be plagiarized and have been permanently removed from the series (and publication).

If You Like Casca Books, You’ll Love…

Casca Synopsis: In The Samurai by Barry Sadler (book 19), Casca finds himself in feudal Japan, where he teams up with Muramassa – the legendary samurai warrior.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Casca Books

Leave a Reply