Destroyer by Warren Murphy Richard Sapir
The Destroyer is a series of adventure novels created by Warren Murphy and Richard Sapir. The series follows a Jersey cop named Remo Williams who was framed for a crime he didn’t commit and given the death sentence. The govenrment fakes his death in order to train him to become an assassin for a secret organization called CURE. He is trained by Chiun, the last Master of Sinanju, who becomes a father figure to him. The series was adapted to film as Remo: The Adventure Begins.

Warren Murphy and Richard Sapir debuted The Destroyer series in 1973 with the novel Created, The Destroyer. At first, the two authors would alternate writing a novel each, although both were credited. Later, they delegated to ghostwriters like Robert J. Randisi, William Ted Joy, Molly Cochran, Will Murray and Ed Hunsburger. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Warren Murphy and Richard Sapir’s Destroyer books in order of when they were first released (as well as in chronological order):

Publication Order of The Destroyer Books

Created The Destroyer(1971)Description / Buy at
Death Check(1972)Description / Buy at
Chinese Puzzle(1972)Description / Buy at
Mafia Fix(1972)Description / Buy at
Dr. Quake(1972)Description / Buy at
Death Therapy(1972)Description / Buy at
Union Bust(1972)Description / Buy at
Summit Chase(1973)Description / Buy at
Murder's Shield(1973)Description / Buy at
Terror Squad(1973)Description / Buy at
Kill or Cure(1973)Description / Buy at
Slave Safari(1973)Description / Buy at
Acid Rock(1973)Description / Buy at
Judgment Day(1974)Description / Buy at
Murder Ward(1974)Description / Buy at
Oil Slick(1974)Description / Buy at
Last War Dance(1974)Description / Buy at
Funny Money(1975)Description / Buy at
Holy Terror(1975)Description / Buy at
Assassin's Play Off(1975)Description / Buy at
Deadly Seeds(1975)Description / Buy at
Brain Drain(1976)Description / Buy at
Child's Play(1976)Description / Buy at
King's Curse(1976)Description / Buy at
Sweet Dreams(1976)Description / Buy at
In Enemy Hands(1976)Description / Buy at
The Last Temple(1977)Description / Buy at
Ship of Death(1977)Description / Buy at
The Final Death(1977)Description / Buy at
Mugger Blood(1977)Description / Buy at
The Head Men(1977)Description / Buy at
Killer Chromosomes(1978)Description / Buy at
Voodoo Die(1978)Description / Buy at
Chained Reaction(1978)Description / Buy at
Last Call(1978)Description / Buy at
Power Play(1979)Description / Buy at
Bottom Line(1979)Description / Buy at
Bay City Blast(1979)Description / Buy at
Missing Link(1980)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Games(1980)Description / Buy at
Firing Line(1980)Description / Buy at
Timber Line(1980)Description / Buy at
Midnight Man(1981)Description / Buy at
Balance of Power(1981)Description / Buy at
Spoils of War(1981)Description / Buy at
Next of Kin(1981)Description / Buy at
Profit Motive(1982)Description / Buy at
Skin Deep(1982)Description / Buy at
Killing Time(1982)Description / Buy at
Dying Space(1982)Description / Buy at
Shock Value(1983)Description / Buy at
Fool's Gold(1983)Description / Buy at
Time Trial(1983)Description / Buy at
Last Drop(1983)Description / Buy at
Master's Challenge(1984)Description / Buy at
Encounter Group(1984)Description / Buy at
Date with Death(1984)Description / Buy at
Total Recall(1984)Description / Buy at
The Arms of Kali(1984)Description / Buy at
The End of the Game(1985)Description / Buy at
Lords of the Earth(1985)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Stone(1985)Description / Buy at
The Sky Is Falling(1986)Description / Buy at
The Last Alchemist(1986)Description / Buy at
Lost Yesterday(1986)Description / Buy at
Sue Me(1986)Description / Buy at
Look into My Eyes(1987)Description / Buy at
An Old-Fashioned War(1987)Description / Buy at
Blood Ties(1987)Description / Buy at
The Eleventh Hour(1987)Description / Buy at
Return Engagement(1988)Description / Buy at
Sole Survivor(1988)Description / Buy at
Line of Succession(1988)Description / Buy at
Walking Wounded(1988)Description / Buy at
Rain of Terror(1989)Description / Buy at
The Final Crusade(1989)Description / Buy at
Coin of the Realm(1989)Description / Buy at
Blue Smoke and Mirrors(1989)Description / Buy at
Shooting Schedule(1990)Description / Buy at
Death Sentence(1990)Description / Buy at
Hostile Takeover(1990)Description / Buy at
Survival Course(1990)Description / Buy at
Skull Duggery(1990)Description / Buy at
Ground Zero(1991)Description / Buy at
Blood Lust(1991)Description / Buy at
Arabian Nightmare(1991)Description / Buy at
The Ultimate Death(1992)Description / Buy at
Dark Horse(1992)Description / Buy at
Ghost in the Machine(1992)Description / Buy at
Mob Psychology(1992)Description / Buy at
Cold Warrior(1993)Description / Buy at
The Last Dragon(1993)Description / Buy at
Terminal Transmission(1993)Description / Buy at
Feeding Frenzy(1993)Description / Buy at
High Priestess(1994)Description / Buy at
Infernal Revenue(1994)Description / Buy at
Identity Crisis(1994)Description / Buy at
Target of Opportunity(1994)Description / Buy at
The Color Of Fear(1995)Description / Buy at
Last Rites(1995)Description / Buy at
Continental Divide(2018)Description / Buy at
Monumental Terror(2019)Description / Buy at
Blood Brotherhood(2021)Description / Buy at
Trial By Fire(2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Destroyer Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of The New Destroyer Books

(By: Warren Murphy, James Mullaney)

Notes: The Destroyer series was co-created by Richard Sapir, and the novels largely ghostwritten by other authors. The New Destroyer series was co-authored with James Mullaney. The Assassin’s Handbook was later updated and revised as Inside Sinanju. Remo: The Adventure Begins was co-authored by Richard Ben Sapir.

If You Like Destroyer Books, You’ll Love…

The Destroyer Synopsis: In Created, the Destroyer by Warren Murphy and Richard Sapir, Remo Williams is put to death by way of electrocution for murdering a drug dealer. The government organization known as CURE resurrects Remo to create the ultimate assassin in order to carry out their dirty plans. With the direction of Master Chiun, Remo becomes The Destroyer and is dispatched to clean up the seedy underworld.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Destroyer Books

Leave a Reply