The Gap Cycle is a series of science fiction novels by American author Stephen R. Donaldson. The series is set in the future where the human race has been pushed out into space in order to find new resources. An alien species called the Amnion trade ores for technology with the humans.

The Gap Cycle began in 1991 with the novel The Real Story and concluded after five novels with This Day All Gods Die, published in 1996. Below is a list of Stephen Donaldson’s Gap Cycle books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Stephen R. Donaldson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gap Books

The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story(1990)Description / Buy at
The Forbidden Knowledge: The Gap Into Vision(1991)Description / Buy at
The Dark and Hungry God arises: The Gap Into Power(1992)Description / Buy at
The Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness(1994)Description / Buy at
The Gap Into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die(1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gap Cycle Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Gap Cycle Books

Leave a Reply