The Wheel of Time is a series of epic fantasy novels by American novelist Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (when noted). Originally, the series was slated to go six novels, then twelve, now fourteen. Jordan passed away in 2007 and Brandon Sanderson was chosen to finish the series based on extensive notes he left behind.

The Wheel of Time series began in 1990 with The Eye of the World. The series consists of 14 books plus a prequel called New Spring. Below is a list of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series in both publication order and also in chronological order:

Publication Order of The Wheel of Time Books

The Eye of the World(1990)Description / Buy at
The Great Hunt(1990)Description / Buy at
The Dragon Reborn(1991)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Rising(1992)Description / Buy at
The Fires of Heaven(1993)Description / Buy at
Lord of Chaos(1994)Description / Buy at
A Crown of Swords(1996)Description / Buy at
The Path of Daggers(1998)Description / Buy at
Winter's Heart(2000)Description / Buy at
Crossroads of Twilight(2003)Description / Buy at
New Spring(2004)Description / Buy at
Knife of Dreams(2005)Description / Buy at
The Gathering Storm(2009)Description / Buy at
Towers of Midnight(2010)Description / Buy at
A Memory of Light(2012)Description / Buy at
The Wheel of Time (Complete Series)(2014)Description / Buy at
New Spring is a prequel to the Wheel of Time series.

Publication Order of The Wheel of Time - Graphic Novels Books

(Chuck Dixon)

New Spring(2011)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 1(2011)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 2(2012)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 3(2013)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 4(2013)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 5(2014)Description / Buy at
The Eye of the World, Volume 6(2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wheel of Time Companion Books

The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time(1997)Description / Buy at
The Wheel of Time Companion(2015)Description / Buy at

Notes: The final three novels in the series were completed by Brandon Sanderson. The graphic novels were adapted by Chuck Dixon.

If You Like The Wheel Of Time Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Wheel Of Time Books

2 Responses to “Order of Wheel Of Time Books”

  1. Guy: 3 years ago

    Once you start you won’t be able to stop! Some books seem to drag for short periods but it is all about how to weave a tale and get you totally into it. Robert Jordan doesn’t just tell a story, he tells a story with a history and in telling the history he foretells the future. You will not regret reading this series.
    Even though he pasted away before his last book was written the author and his wife( his editor) did a fantastic job wrapping it all up, using his manuscripts as a guide. I remember waiting for each of the books to get published and buying the day it was available and secluding myself for days until I had read the entire book cover to cover.

    R.I.P. Mr. Jordan your legacy will live on for a very long time! Millions will enter your world and once there, go back again and again.


  2. Mo: 4 years ago

    Thanks again for this site. It really is so helpful. I keep hearing how great this series in and I wanted to see the proper reading order. I’m still scared to start because it’s so HUGE!


Leave a Reply