George Smiley is a fictional character featured in a series of spy fiction novels by British author John le Carre. The Smiley character is a British intelligence officer who works for MI6. He has made several appearances in television and film, including being portrayed by Sir Alec Guinness in two BBC television series and more recently by Gary Goldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Although Smiley appears in all of the novels in the “George Smiley series,” he is a minor character in several of them (including The Spy Who Came in From the Cold, The Looking Glass War and The Secret Pilgrim). The first George Smiley novel was Call for the Dead and came out in 1961. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of John le Carre’s George Smiley books in publication order and chronological order:

Publication Order of George Smiley Books

Call for the Dead(1961)Description / Buy at
A Murder of Quality(1962)Description / Buy at
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold(1963)Description / Buy at
The Looking Glass War(1965)Description / Buy at
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy(1974)Description / Buy at
The Honourable Schoolboy(1977)Description / Buy at
Smiley's People(1979)Description / Buy at
The Secret Pilgrim(1990)Description / Buy at
A Legacy of Spies(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like George Smiley Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of George Smiley Books

One Response to “Order of George Smiley Books”

  1. Chlowie: 11 years ago

    Fantastic resource Thank you


Leave a Reply