Grantchester Mysteries by James Runcie
The Grantchester Mysteries is a series of mystery short story collections by British author James Runcie. The series is set in Grantchester, near Cambridge, England and features a clergyman/detective named Sidney Chambers. The series was adapted into a television drama series by ITV, entitled Grantchester.

James Runcie began his Grantchester Mysteries series in 2012 with the collection Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death. The series is planned to run for six books, concluding in 2017 with Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love in 2017. Below is a list of James Runcie’s Grantchester Mysteries books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when James Runcie releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Grantchester Mysteries Books

Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death(2012)Description / Buy at
Sidney Chambers and the Perils of the Night(2013)Description / Buy at
Sidney Chambers and the Problem of Evil(2014)Description / Buy at
Sidney Chambers and The Forgiveness of Sins(2015)Description / Buy at
Sidney Chambers and The Dangers of Temptation(2016)Description / Buy at
Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love(2017)Description / Buy at
The Road to Grantchester(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Grantchester Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Granchester Mysteries Synopsis: Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death by James Runcie is the first book in the Grantchester Mysteries series. It is 1953 – the same year as the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. Sidney Chambers, vicar of Grantchester and honorary canon of Ely Cathedral, is a 32-year-old bachelor. Tall, with dark brown hair, hazelnut-coloured eyes, and a reassuringly gentle manner, Sidney is an unconventional clerical detective. He can go places the police can’t. Along with his roguish friend, inspector Geordie Keating, Sidney inquires into the suspect suicide of a Cambridge solicitor, a scandalous jewelry theft at a New Year’s Eve dinner party, the unexplained death of a jazz promoter’s daughter, and a shocking art forgery that puts a close friend in danger. Sidney discovers that being a detective, like being a clergyman, means that you are always on the job, but he nonetheless manages to find time for a keen interest in cricket, warm beer, and hot jazz – as well as a curious fondness for a German widow in her late 20s.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Grantchester Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply